Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > General > General Computing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26 Apr 2007, 09:59 AM   #16
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

well the 8X could have just give out from use and the new liteons are known to have issues with quality control, lot of lemons getting rma'd

the ones that are ok seem to do great tho

LG and pioneer usually are known for durability, probably bad batches of every make
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 04:19 AM   #17
Repoman1122
 
repoman1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Default bad power supply?

How can I determine if my psu is bad? Lower than 'normal' voltage output? I have two hard drives, a dvd burner, and a 3.5 floppy drive. And there's still a couple of psu jacks and IDE connectors available for use. I have a Dell dimension 4400 pc, five years old.....
Is there some freeware floating around that can monitor the psu to see what its' doing? I'll have to open up the pc to see what the specs are, and maybe come up with a consumption figure for all the stuff it's feeding................
repoman1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 04:27 AM   #18
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

5 years old and added a hard drive and dvd burner says it all

google everest home, use the sensor part to monitor voltages
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 08:09 AM   #19
Repoman1122
 
repoman1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Default

Okay, I'll see what that turns up - TY!
repoman1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 08:17 AM   #20
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

Quote:
CPU Core 1.71 V
Aux 1.71 V
+3.3 V 3.38 V
+5 V 4.92 V
+12 V 12.74 V
-12 V -12.65 V
-5 V -4.79 V
here's a good power supply under little load

what matters is are the voltage rails steady/solid?
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 11:36 AM   #21
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
jblitz277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: currently I'm lost
Posts: 417
Default

Ok i have searched far and wide for firmware for my sony aw-Q170A current firmware1.70 and i can't find anything
jblitz277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 10:19 PM   #22
Dan
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jblitz277 View Post
Ok i have searched far and wide for firmware for my sony aw-Q170A current firmware1.70 and i can't find anything
From what I have read there is no official firmware update for the AW-Q170, just the AW-G170.

Apparently it is an Optiarc AD-5170A. Liggy and Dee have modded firmware for this but it involves cross flashing, which can be dangerous.

http://liggydee.cdfreaks.com/page/en/Optiarc-AD-5170A/
__________________

Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 10:48 PM   #23
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
jblitz277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: currently I'm lost
Posts: 417
Default

So my best option is to buy new burner?
jblitz277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 11:00 PM   #24
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

according to Liggy the firmwares are the same and it's not really a true crossflash, I found very little on either drive

what's wrong with the current firmware?
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 11:02 PM   #25
Dan
Digital Video Master
Digital Video Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,029
Default

Even the Sony-NEC-Optiarc page shows them as the same series.

http://www.sonynec-optiarc.com/produ...drw/index.html

Why do you need a new one, is it not working properly?
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2007, 12:21 AM   #26
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
jblitz277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: currently I'm lost
Posts: 417
Default

No I got new media and my disk quality is **** I tried some verb 16x dvd+r that i am having excellent results on my lite on and got a 0 quality same result with memorex and verb 16x dvd-rs so I tried a sony dual layer and got a 77? I can't write any faster than 4x without freezes and it's only from x-mas I followed every other step in G.R.O.B and firmware is my last option
jblitz277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2007, 12:47 AM   #27
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

are both burners in the same computer?

same power lead, same cable?
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2007, 01:37 AM   #28
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
jblitz277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: currently I'm lost
Posts: 417
Default

same cpu/yes if u mean by same cable thea are ide so there is one gray ribbon with 2 connects the sony is set as master lite on as slave diff power lead
jblitz277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2007, 01:52 AM   #29
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

before you trash the sony, test it all by itself on a power connector closest to the power supply, post an 8X burn log with good blank and post a scan of the disk done with the liteon

never scan with the nec/sony

next step would be to flash the drive as standalone master from safe mode
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2007, 08:50 AM   #30
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
jblitz277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: currently I'm lost
Posts: 417
Default

this is the best media i have burned as 8x as you suggested scanned on lite on I burned with shrink how do i get the burn log?
Attached Thumbnails
burner quality-lite-on_dvdrw_lh-20a1h_ll06_27-april-2007_18_46.png  
jblitz277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low quality to high quality? resetdave AVI, DivX/Xvid 11 8 Jun 2009 07:44 AM
Dvd Burner Problem My Computer Does Not Reconize It As A Dvd Burner chicke219 General Discussions 0 26 Apr 2006 08:42 AM
Need help with new burner! bmp956 DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware 1 2 Mar 2006 07:24 AM
avi QUALITY to DVD quality? TMPGEnc twistedbeings_n General Discussions 2 21 Jul 2004 01:29 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:04 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com