Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > General > General Computing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 6 Nov 2008, 09:49 PM   #181
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

Thanx for the tips on the partitions Chewy. My build is buzzing really fast now that I took the 500 gig hd out after transferring what I needed over to the 200 gig partition.

Quick ? Should I get some anti-static bags to store it? Right now it's wrapped in some small bubble wrap.
__________________
SAMSUNG SH-S203B, SAMSUNG SH-S223F,

Take the suggestions and follow the directions. The results will speak for themselves.



Google is definitely our friend.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Nov 2008, 03:39 AM   #182
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 713
Default

MilesAhead,

I placed this here because it is where you had mentioned it, but anyway, I saw that Buy.com has an HP M9260F for $699 shipped. It is a refurbished unit, but it does have the Q6700, 4GB ram, 1TB HD (2x500), BD/HD, and a GeForce 8600GT.

I'm not sure how you feel about refurbs, but I have bought a few and have never experienced any problems. As a matter of I still use weekly a Dell Laptop I purchased about 8yrs ago, refurbished. Anyway I thought I would mention this, since you are looking around.
copyless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Nov 2008, 09:28 AM   #183
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
doctorhardware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In the land of Ice & Snow
Posts: 1,907
Default

When Vista was first out BestBuy would and still is returning computers with vista that the OS is corrupted. As far as defraging HD I have never had to reinstall the OS due to being corrupted. My son will not defrag his HD, so I have had to reinstall the OS so many times that I do not remember how many times I had to do it.
__________________
Star Baby Girl, Born March,1997 Died June 30th 2007 6:35 PM.
doctorhardware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Nov 2008, 10:32 AM   #184
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

@copyless I appreciate the heads-up.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Nov 2008, 05:52 AM   #185
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
doctorhardware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In the land of Ice & Snow
Posts: 1,907
Default

I would say about 90% of the refurb computers, had to have the OS reinstalled. 5% had cosmetic issues, and the last 5% had actual hardware issues. If a extended warranty was not purchased the computer will be sent to the manufacturer for repair.
doctorhardware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Jan 2010, 10:43 PM   #186
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I inherited vista with my notebook. Hate it. would like to go back to xp for free any thoughts
scotso2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Feb 2010, 12:27 PM   #187
Super Member
Super Member
 
Junkie_ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by youthinksoo View Post
Is anyone satisfied with Windows Vista? Have you upgraded? Have you downgraded back to XP? From what I heard Vista is not worth it, so I plan to stick with XP.
Nope had visa installed for all of 5 mins reverted back to XP Pro. Just upgraded to windows 7 seem like the operating systems vista should have been still tetin though!

Linux is a gret alternative though and its free which is a bonus!!
__________________
SYSTEM:

Pentioum Duo 6400, 8 GB Ram, 500Gb Hardrive, 32x DVD Rom, 16 x TCorp Duel Layer Burner, Geforce 7900GTX.


Bow to the gods of Digital-Digest

http://www.wix.com/martinhopkins/designandphotography
Junkie_ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Feb 2010, 01:30 PM   #188
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
doctorhardware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In the land of Ice & Snow
Posts: 1,907
Default

Windows 7 has been rock solid I got the pro version. I preordered it and got it for $99 with free shipping.
doctorhardware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Feb 2010, 05:18 AM   #189
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junkie_ball View Post
Nope had visa installed for all of 5 mins reverted back to XP Pro. Just upgraded to windows 7 seem like the operating systems vista should have been still tetin though!

Linux is a gret alternative though and its free which is a bonus!!
I got a PC with Vista 32 bit before SP1 and it took ages to tweak it and straighten it out. Even after all the messing around the Explorer drag & drop shell copy never worked right. Way slow. I had to use either TeraCopy or KillCopy just to get normal drag & drop copy. But the PC I got after that had Vista 64 bit (Home Premium as they always put on the off the shelf desktops) with SP1. A world of difference. I put W7 on the machine that had Vista 32 bit because no matter what I couldn't get the SP1 to go on.

About the only thing my Vista64 doesn't have is the Taskbar tweak with the jump lists. It runs very smooth. The only thing I would do differently if I bought a new machine or built one is put in 2 HDs. If you are doing a full speed copy or a video mux and the HD is maxed out, trying to load anything off the HD, well forget it. I put Firefox portable on my external USB just to run in those situations. These quad core PCs should really come stock with 2 HDs. One just can't keep up anymore.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Feb 2010, 10:49 AM   #190
Super Member
Super Member
 
Junkie_ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MilesAhead View Post
I got a PC with Vista 32 bit before SP1 and it took ages to tweak it and straighten it out. Even after all the messing around the Explorer drag & drop shell copy never worked right. Way slow. I had to use either TeraCopy or KillCopy just to get normal drag & drop copy. But the PC I got after that had Vista 64 bit (Home Premium as they always put on the off the shelf desktops) with SP1. A world of difference. I put W7 on the machine that had Vista 32 bit because no matter what I couldn't get the SP1 to go on.

About the only thing my Vista64 doesn't have is the Taskbar tweak with the jump lists. It runs very smooth. The only thing I would do differently if I bought a new machine or built one is put in 2 HDs. If you are doing a full speed copy or a video mux and the HD is maxed out, trying to load anything off the HD, well forget it. I put Firefox portable on my external USB just to run in those situations. These quad core PCs should really come stock with 2 HDs. One just can't keep up anymore.
Never ventured down the Vista 64 route. I do CAD and when vista first came out the CAD software was so unstable and would fall over all the time hence never bothered testing to much as the saying goes time is money.

Completely agree with the machines needing two HD's now thats have my i have my computers hardware configured 2x 250gb sata drives with the new windows 7 build. Havent managed to crash the new os once yet even whilst running Photoshop, AutoCAD, iTunes, Office and internet and proforming CAD publishing in the background. Very resource demending stuff some of it and still runs completely smooth.
Junkie_ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Feb 2010, 10:07 PM   #191
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
chowder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Default better than vista

vista tend to be problematic especially when we intend to use usb connected hardwares. xp much better or better yet window 7 premium.
chowder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Mar 2010, 05:33 PM   #192
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Believe me VISTA is not even worth the letters used to spell it's name. This program takes over your computer by not allowing to make you own decisions without challenging you about installing programs. I have more error messages now then on any computer I have owned and worked with at work.

I agree with you about VISTA. I wish I had my XP back
nonisugg3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Feb 2011, 11:23 PM   #193
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Yes but windows 7 is there to beat up XP, windows 7 best among all Microsoft operating systems. Thanks
ericpepin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Sep 2011, 07:29 PM   #194
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Me i Dont like Vista im Using windows 7 i think is more great rather than the vista..its good look and it also fast rather than vista
kelly.21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2011, 09:13 PM   #195
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default

I like Windows 7 Operating System as compare with all widows...
justintheroux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't I buy a new laptop without Vista? davidt1 General Computing 20 19 Mar 2008 04:18 PM
What to use with Vista?? shaun100 Junior Members/Newbies 0 22 Apr 2007 11:39 AM
Vista removal durkinjt General Computing 18 18 Mar 2007 10:53 AM
Vista preliminar dissident En espa˝ol 6 11 Aug 2003 02:28 PM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:38 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com