Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > General > General Computing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 21 Apr 2006, 07:43 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Default DVD Shrink Problem/New Computer

Bought a new computer last week. AMD 64 etc etc. Windows XP home OS ran all updates. Updated DirectX also. Installed DVDShrink 3.2 (latest). Popped in a DVD it opened disc fine but when I hit back up, hour glass pops up for 15seconds then window closes. Fine, Bad dvd maybe. So grab a disc that I have already backed on the old computer and same things happens. WTF. Download ANYDVD it copied it to hard drive, went to DVDShrink to compress and burn using "Backup" key, same thing happens. DVD-rw drive is an Aopen if that help, my old one was a HP. (if it helps)

I've searched this forum and a few others and haven't found anything that would help. Someone Please Help. My IT-kung foo is weak. Thanks.
Sparsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 08:07 AM   #2
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,628
Default

Thread transferred to General Computing where our hardware experts can lend a hand.

Have you tried ripping a DVD onto the hard drive with DVD Decrypter, using Open Files to get the project loaded and then clicking backup? That would tend to isolate the problem as hardware or software.

Regards
__________________
Les

Essential progs - [PgcEdit] [VobBlanker] [MenuShrink] [IfoEdit] [Muxman] [DVD Remake Pro] [DVD Rebuilder] [BeSweet] [Media Player Classic] [DVDSubEdit] [ImgBurn]

Media and Burning - [Golden Rules of Burning] [Media quality] [Fix your DMA] [Update your Firmware] [What's my Media ID Code?] [How to test your disc]
[What's bitsetting?] [Burn dual layer disks safely] [Why not to burn with Ner0] [Interpret Ner0's burn errors] [Got bad playback?] [Burner/Media compatibility]

Cool Techniques - [2COOL's guides] [Clean your DVD] [Join a flipper] [Split into 2 DVDs] [Save heaps of Mb] [How to mock strip] [Cool Insert Clips]

Real useful info - [FAQ INDEX] [Compression explained] [Logical Remapping of Enabled Streams] [DVD-Replica] [Fantastic info on DVDs]


You should only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media. Many thanks to www.pcx.com.au for their supply and great service.

Explore the sites and the programs - there's a gold mine of information in them

Don't forget to play the Digital Digest Quiz!!! (Click here)

blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 08:29 AM   #3
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

does the dvd-rw even play a factory movie disk?

powerdvd windvd etc?
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 08:42 AM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Yes, I can play the DVD on Windows Media Player and Power DVD with out a problem.
Copy that was Done with ANY DVD to hard drive will play also. But still can't get it to shrink/burn it using Backup button.

Last edited by Sparsky; 21 Apr 2006 at 08:45 AM
Sparsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 11:17 AM   #5
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

what's the title of the disk that won't shrink after using anydvd?
What did you use to get it to the hard drive beside anydvd?
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 11:45 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Default

I tried IRobot and Kill Bill Vol1 and 2.

Both Kill Bills I already copied on my old computer w/only dvd Shrink. Now I can't get this computer to let DVD shrink to back up anything.

I only used anydvd, but the problem is with dvd shrink somehow.
Sparsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 11:48 AM   #7
King of Digital Video
King of Digital Video
 
NightTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: eastcoast, on the beach
Posts: 4,224
Default

can you transfer the file from old computer to new one and check to see if shrink can shrink it?, you can use stick and transfer bit by bit
NightTran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 11:56 AM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Default

old computer is gone. but when i backed up all my files to DVD i did transfer my old dvd shrink zip file and still nothing.
Sparsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 12:07 PM   #9
King of Digital Video
King of Digital Video
 
NightTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: eastcoast, on the beach
Posts: 4,224
Default

could be something erup during transfer, if you can't shrink any thing at all try to down load shrink again
NightTran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 12:10 PM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Default

tired the old zip file from the backup disk off the old computer and tried several different sites on the internet.
Sparsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 12:12 PM   #11
King of Digital Video
King of Digital Video
 
NightTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: eastcoast, on the beach
Posts: 4,224
Default

what about put a new disc in, rip with dvdd and try to shrink it? your shrink may be fine just the old files go bad
NightTran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 04:44 PM   #12
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

Quote:
Both Kill Bills I already copied on my old computer w/only dvd Shrink. Now I can't get this computer to let DVD shrink to back up anything
.

What's your burning program?
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 09:35 PM   #13
Banned
 
ed klein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Over The Edge
Posts: 880
Default

Do an add/remove of Shrink on you new computer, including the removal of remains on the hard drive, and registry.

Get a good registry cleaner like JV16 and clean-up your registry on your new computer, and then do a clean install of DVD Shrink again.

Some of the older versions of Shrink left temp folder and files remaining on your computer.
ed klein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 11:19 PM   #14
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Burn Program is Nero 6.6.1.4

Ed I will try that.
Sparsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2006, 11:25 PM   #15
Next to Arch Stanton
 
Zero G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 545
Default

Uncheck the burn with Nero option in Shrink and burn with Nero manually. That version of Nero doesn't play nice with Shrink.
__________________
"Wanted in 14 counties of this state. The condemned is found guilty of the crimes of murder, armed robbery of citizens, state banks and post offices, the theft of sacred objects, arson in a state prison, purgery, bigamy, deserting his wife and children, inciting prostitution, kidnapping, extortion, receiving stolen goods, selling stolen goods, passing counterfeit money, and contrary to the laws of this state, the condemned is guilty of using marked cards...therefore according to the powers vested in us, we sentence the accused here before us Tuco Benedicto Pacifico Juan Ramirez also known as the Rat and any other aliases he may have to hang by the neck until dead."
Zero G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 09:20 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com