Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > General > General Computing

Like Tree1Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 13 votes, 4.54 average. Display Modes
Old 31 Jan 2006, 04:15 AM   #46
Just Trying To Help
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada Region 1
Posts: 7,524
Default

@NightbladeXX I feel fine oh you mean the PC.
soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jan 2006, 04:17 AM   #47
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

night,
a clean install and no extra programs/interenet and it will rise like the phoenix from the ashes.
Always keep data on an extra hard drive or a D partition. My important data is backed up to lots of hard drives, media, machines.

Last edited by Chewy; 31 Jan 2006 at 04:19 AM
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jan 2006, 04:34 AM   #48
Digital Putz
 
NightbladeXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in Illinois
Posts: 166
Default

Another great program is Mailwasher Pro v5.0 its great for spam control, and its really easy to use. http://www.firetrust.com/

Chewy, thats what i have instored for it, I never really just upgrade components anymore just build a new system. That way I can use the old one for other tasks. This current one I dedicating for DVD burning, and scanning other systems (mine or customers) to quell my paranoia as me poor lil server cant handle much more. My basement is starting to look like Fry's Electronics computer section just wish I had their current inventory
__________________


http://www.steelers.com/

AMD FX-62 @3.2GHz
2GB of Corsair XMS 4-4-4-12 @ 860 MHz soon to be 4GB
MSI K9N Diamond nForce 590 SLI
nVidia 8800 GTS 320 MB
650W PSU + 465W (external)
6 WD HD's 2x500, 2x320, 250, and 36GB Raptor + 200 External for Vista HP back ups
LG DVD+RW
Koolance EXOS Coolant System
Buffalo Link Station Live 500GB NAS
Dual Acer 2223's (22") Monitors
Antec 900 Case custom painted interior black w/ 4 120mm blue fans + 200mm top vent
Vista Home Premium 32 bit
Vista Ultimate 64 bit (new)
XP Professional 32 bit
Ubuntu 7.04

Last edited by NightbladeXX; 31 Jan 2006 at 04:40 AM
NightbladeXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jan 2006, 04:48 AM   #49
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

my dedicated dvd machine, no internet or network
AMD A64Venice 3000+ 275x9 asusA8VDlx Ballistic 250(2.5-4-4-10)1T 2x256
it's fast, for the money. bangforthebuckchampion I call it
Quote:
the beast
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jan 2006, 11:34 AM   #50
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
titanfan1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: McMinnville,TN.
Posts: 28
Thumbs up-2

I use Defender Pro. I actually paid for it. The 2006 version was only $19.95 at wal-mart. It is licensed for up to three computers.It is made by Kaspersky it has been a godsend for me. It has anti-virus,spam,and pop-ups. It has a firwall with it and system utilities such as an optimizer. Very good product I recomend it highly.

__________________
Big Daddy Dan
"Stop thinking politically correct, Start thinking Playstation2, Let's blow some SH%t up!"
Vin Deisle
titanfan1017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jan 2006, 01:52 PM   #51
Digital Putz
 
NightbladeXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in Illinois
Posts: 166
Default

I hear ya Chewy, I have 2 back ups of my important data now! I ve learned the hard way.

This ol' dog is a Barton 2500 w/ 1gig ram a 20 gb HD for Windows and a 4 drive 80gb HDs RAID 5 array (Back up 1) my server is an Athlon XP 1700 w/ 1 gig ram and another RAID 5 array running 3 - 250 gb HDs and an external 300gb HD (back up 2)

I prolly will want to change things around once I get my new system, but maybe too much of a real PITA to make a change feasible.

nB
NightbladeXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Mar 2006, 07:02 AM   #52
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks, ill check these sites out, they sound like they might come in handy one day.
skz720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Mar 2006, 07:06 AM   #53
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Cambion7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 557
Question Can you see all connections with AVG w/Firewall?

Just to keep adding to this thread rather than start a new one.... I was curious of AVG Anti Virus with Firewall has the ability to show you what connections are currently being made by your machine. In NIS 2K5 you could right-click the icon on the system tray and call up various statistics, which included all connections, to what addie, and what proggie was calling out. But they've removed this in NIS 2K6. Since Norton is becoming more and more of a BloatWare I've been thinking of switching off to AVG. So if anyone is running the AVG with their firewall, could you check to see if they offer that up as an option? Tnx!

Cam
__________________
Like the info in these forums? Want to contribute? Click here to Register for Free!

"In space, nobody can hear you cha cha cha...."
- Confidence
Cambion7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 May 2006, 03:07 AM   #54
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Africa
Posts: 272
Default

Can somebody please help me by telling me how can download pictures from phone to laptop. I have the Nokia PC Suite and USB cable but when I connect my files are empty....my outlook is not in use could this be the reason why my files from the phone appear empty on the laptop? please help
Phillip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2006, 08:51 PM   #55
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Kabuchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 6000 ft above Sea Level
Posts: 399
Default

You probably have been to their site, Nokia, but some of the earlier phones are not supported by PC Suite. Hope you find it!
Kabuchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2006, 12:22 AM   #56
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Derree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Regina Sask Canada
Posts: 546
Default

I was able to get the full edition of pc microtrends PC Cillian through work (and yes everyone who works there does get it for free, didn't pirate it at all!!) So far so good seems to work ok
__________________




Turn down the suck...Turn up the
good
-------------------------------------------
Derree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jun 2006, 06:05 AM   #57
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 153
Default

I just ordered Micro Trends PC Cillian Security Edition for 2006 because I cannot STAND Norton!!!!!!!!!!!
My computer is SO SLOW because of it! It takes like five minutes just to start up because of the stupid software! It is SOOO going once I get my new software in the mail!
mattcharles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jun 2006, 06:16 AM   #58
Digital Video Maniac
 
MikeyBK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattcharles
I just ordered Micro Trends PC Cillian Security Edition for 2006 because I cannot STAND Norton!!!!!!!!!!!
My computer is SO SLOW because of it! It takes like five minutes just to start up because of the stupid software! It is SOOO going once I get my new software in the mail!

You could disable everything except the A/V and Firewall in Norton and it shouldn't really be that much of a hog?.?.

I have an AMD Athlon64 3700+ w/ 1 Gig of Ram and my Norton 'never' slows my PC down not even the littlest bit?.?.?
__________________
MBK

Antec 900 ATX Mid Tower
Antec True Power Trio 650W PSU
ABIT IP35 Pro LGA 775 Intel Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz CPU (Overclocking @ 2.9GHz)
XFX GeForce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 Video Card
Patriot eXtreme Performance (2 x 1GB) DDR2 SDRAM
Seagate Barracuda(Perpendicular Recording) 320GB SATA 3.0Gb

*SAMSUNG 18X LightScribe SATA SH-S183L DVD▒R
*Sony DRU-810A IDE DVD▒R
*BenQ LS DW1655 IDE DVD▒R
MikeyBK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Jun 2006, 11:18 AM   #59
BR7
He is coming to your little town!
 
BR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sioux City,IA
Posts: 2,137
Default

The site gives 46 Best-ever Freeware Utilities
__________________

My Blu-ray Collection
BR7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Jun 2006, 11:59 AM   #60
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

Quote:
my Norton 'never' slows my PC down
never say never
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 05:32 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com