Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > General > General Computing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 30 Dec 2006, 07:04 PM   #1
BR7
He is coming to your little town!
 
BR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sioux City,IA
Posts: 2,137
Default How well does the PCI IDE add on work

How well does the PCI IDE add on work?
__________________

My Blu-ray Collection
BR7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2006, 10:33 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

they work great for hard drives but real iffy for atapi drives

as katz found out tho they are a pain during a reload

anytime you can have more drives and have 1 drive/1 cable, things are going to speed up to their maximum potential.


what are you wanting to do?
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2006, 10:39 PM   #3
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
katzdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,198
Default

Quote:
as katz found out tho they are a pain during a reload
No kidding

I have seen posts where users have found "stable" cards to use, but I don't rem. which ones they are. Maybe Chewy has a better recollection than I do.

I am running 2 1650's on my card, & I finally got everything working well (I think), but I dread the time when I need to reformat the system!

I think a bit of my problem came from not really understanding how to set it up properly - I didn't have any prev. experience with them, & the whole raid/stripe/mirror thing had me a bit confused!

Follow Chewy's (& Lightning UK) lead!

regards, katz : - ()

Last edited by katzdvd; 30 Dec 2006 at 11:40 PM
katzdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2006, 11:24 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

It's really a lot easier than it sounds, make sure you understand the boot options in bios. The idea is to free up your motherboard ide controllers for your atapi drives and use the pci controller for hard drives. Getting the system drive to boot from the controller card can be as simple as just loading the driver after installing the card then hooking the drive up to the card.

For a clean install you have to have a floppy to load the driver from, and it's better to have no other hard drives hooked up at the same time, that was
katz's downfall. He's got system files on a non-active drive??
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2006, 11:48 PM   #5
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
katzdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,198
Default

Quote:
The idea is to free up your motherboard ide controllers for your atapi drives and use the pci controller for hard drives
Quote:
that was
katz's downfall. He's got system files on a non-active drive??
Yep, that's true; I thought I had wiped the drive clean, but when I viewed the "hidden" files, sure enough they were there.

The HD (2) that I had on the PCI card were only being used for storage; My boot drive was the new Segate SATA 250 GB; that's what was kind of throwing me off; I thought the sys. should boot from the SATA drive without looking at the storage drives on the PCI card, & seeing the system files on one of them.

If it boots from the SATA drive ok with that same (storage) drive connected to IDE 1 on the mobo, why do I have problems when I put them on the card?
katzdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2006, 12:08 AM   #6
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

1. boot system drive must be set active
2. in a clean install it's safest to only have that hard drive hooked up
3. any old drives with system files should be cleaned up
4. windows defaults to installing on an ide drive before a sata if I understand the problem?
been there, done that, that's how I deleted a 160 gig data partition by mistake one day, don't want to go there again, painful memories

Last edited by Chewy; 31 Dec 2006 at 12:12 AM
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2006, 05:40 AM   #7
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
katzdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,198
Default

Quote:
4. windows defaults to installing on an ide drive before a sata if I understand the problem?
been there, done that, that's how I deleted a 160 gig data partition by mistake one day, don't want to go there again, painful memories
Yes, that is/was the problem - except...
Quote:
I thought the sys. should boot from the SATA drive without looking at the storage drives on the PCI card, & seeing the system files on one of them.
To recap; The SATA drive has xp on it which boots & runs fine; The IDE drive (storage) USED to have windows on it, which I deleted, but I don't believe I actually formatted it, so I guess that is why the hidden system files still reside there.

SO - I am not talking about problems during an installl; I am talking about a drive (SATA) that already has windows installed on it.

It will boot fine from the SATA drive as long as the storage drive with the sys. files are on the IDE 1 mobo, but if I switch that storage drive to the pci card, that is when the pc sees the sys. files on it, & I get the "NTLDR missing" message.

I believe I wrote it in a confusing way in the prev. post, I hope I explained it better now!

BTW, I noticed BR7 hasn't been back; I hope we didn't scare him off with my issues!
katzdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2006, 08:11 AM   #8
An Eagles Fan, A MenuShrinker
 
jm1647's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,661
Default

I'm not booting from the PCI card, I still have my 2 DVD drives on the IDE secondary channel and 2 PATA drives on the primary. I have a Maxtor SATA/150 PCI card with 2 SATA and 2 PATA drives on it in 1 of my boxes. No problems at all. My present MOBO does not support SATA drives and I have 2 SATA II 3GBS drives on it until I update my mobo.
jm1647 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2006, 08:20 AM   #9
BR7
He is coming to your little town!
 
BR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sioux City,IA
Posts: 2,137
Default

Quote:
BTW, I noticed BR7 hasn't been back; I hope we didn't scare him off with my issues!
LOL No you didn't scare me off I was catching up an some Z's .The reason I was asking was because I was thinking of using one so my burners don't have to share the same cable.I am trying to figure out why I am not getting the great burns like I used to my PIF's are always hitting 20000+.Even my 004 Verbs are doing this.I can't be this unlucky in getting bad batches of discs
BR7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2006, 08:25 AM   #10
King of Digital Video
King of Digital Video
 
NightTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: eastcoast, on the beach
Posts: 4,224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BR7 View Post
LOL No you didn't scare me off I was catching up an some Z's .The reason I was asking was because I was thinking of using one so my burners don't have to share the same cable.I am trying to figure out why I am not getting the great burns like I used to my PIF's are always hitting 20000+.Even my 004 Verbs are doing this.I can't be this unlucky in getting bad batches of discs
only 10% are from program and component, 90% are from your media, as soon as I saw Chewy's post some TY 03 's scan I bought so much TY 02
NightTran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2006, 08:34 AM   #11
BR7
He is coming to your little town!
 
BR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sioux City,IA
Posts: 2,137
Default

I will be glad when my TYG02's get here on the 3rd
BR7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2006, 08:44 AM   #12
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

going to bestbuy tommorrow for the 28 cent verbs
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2006, 09:36 AM   #13
An Eagles Fan, A MenuShrinker
 
jm1647's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy View Post
going to bestbuy tommorrow for the 28 cent verbs
004's?
jm1647 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2006, 10:10 AM   #14
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

25 packs dvd+r, luck of the draw to how good they will be

but I am hooked on bitsetting
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2006, 12:30 PM   #15
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
katzdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,198
Default

Quote:
I was thinking of using one so my burners don't have to share the same cable.I am trying to figure out why I am not getting the great burns like I used to my PIF's are always hitting 20000+.Even my 004 Verbs are doing this.I can't be this unlucky in getting bad batches of discs
Quote:
only 10% are from program and component, 90% are from your media,
I agree with Night, although my experiences are not as in depth as his.

I have;
(2) 1655s set up as slave/burner on IDE 1 mobo
(2) 1650s set up as slave/burner on PCI card 1

I regularly do Queue burns with Imgburn, & I have no issues with that setup, works great & very nice scans; I will post some if I ever get a chance!

Chewy, that's why I am hesitant to change it; it is working okay now, for the most part, & it seems like when I try to connect something differently, I usually end up creating about 3 more problems in the process!

But I will dive into it one day though, maybe when the holiday rush settles down & I get a free moment!

katz
katzdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
would this work? maggot Authoring and Editing 0 3 Jul 2002 12:14 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 05:14 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com