Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > General > General Computing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 3.67 average. Display Modes
Old 28 Mar 2007, 11:53 AM   #166
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
katzdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,198
Default

Quote:
Usually with the HDDs it's the opposite format it and ya lose alot of GBs. I think my 500GB went down to 465GB after format. I forget who it was, but somebody sued one of the drive mfrs and got big $$$$ for sorta false advertising the capacity because it was before formatting
Yeah, sorta like that whole wattage thing w/ amps;

Total amp power: 300 watt
RMS = 180 ??? what I paid for 300!
katzdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Mar 2007, 11:58 AM   #167
An Eagles Fan, A MenuShrinker
 
jm1647's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,661
Default

And with the SATA HDDs, the newer ones are SATA II 300 but can run on a SATA I/150 mobo leaving the jumper on. I got a SATA I mobo and 2 SATA II drives right now, sorta like running NASCAR with the restricter plate under the carb.
jm1647 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Mar 2007, 12:03 PM   #168
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
katzdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,198
Default

Quote:
And with the SATA HDDs, the newer ones are SATA II 300 but can run on a SATA I/150 mobo leaving the jumper on.
Yeah, that's what I am doing right now - works fine, but I feel like I could go faster
katzdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Mar 2007, 12:14 PM   #169
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
JakeBlues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by katzdvd View Post
PCI/IDE add on cards, issues with BIOS/ buggy drivers. Don't worry about it 'till you cross that bridge
Cool Beans! I saw a card on Amazon that said IDE-Sata or Visa-Versa.. umm something card is THAT what the heck you guys are talking about?

You say that now, but wait 'till the burning "bug" bites you full force!
If I told you my second job you'd go "well dayum" and I don't have no "burning Bug" just one movie and one copy at a time.. no dups needed

Sure, you can always upgrade later when the funds aren't so tight - take care of that baby for now!
So I am I to understand that IF later I Bought a sata larger drive it will work as a primary drive and can use it for the main/boot and the other 2 IDE HDs for back ups?

SATA is just a nice way to go if you are able to take advantage of it with you mobo. Something to look into for the future of this pc.
Well Chewy turned you ON to the same Mo-Bo and CPU, there is no reason it should not work!?

I have (4) printers on USB, & a hub for mp3 player, etc. I hate USB mouse & keyboards too!
ChRIzt-Oh-Freaken-Mightyz. what do you do with all them printers? I only NEED one (I wish I had my old HP 4L about now) You have and use much more things than I need

CopyOnTheFly It's wookie termonology - you'll learn to understand it once you're here long enough
Ahh COOL!

They always do...
Katz.. (n then chewy and may a FEW others I am wondering... What you read about me and the ONE copy at a time and I am in No hurry and no muli-tasking as far as burning.. gaming... reading... etc etc.. does it SOUND like I am OK with the selections I have made?
I am worried to death.... sorry
__________________
ElwoodsBrotherJake "...I'm on a mission from God, to help me and others from making coasters!
JakeBlues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Mar 2007, 12:17 PM   #170
King of Digital Video
King of Digital Video
 
NightTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: eastcoast, on the beach
Posts: 4,224
Default

I dont know if this is relate or not, I have 4 Sata drives, I can down load to one, convert with two and burn from the last one to one of my IDE burner at the same time and never have problem
__________________
NightTran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Mar 2007, 12:20 PM   #171
An Eagles Fan, A MenuShrinker
 
jm1647's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by katzdvd View Post
Yeah, that's what I am doing right now - works fine, but I feel like I could go faster
Most of what we do with DVD's like ripping/burning, encoding/transcoding wouldn't benefit from the SATA II but booting from one I think would be nice. ghetocowboy mentioned he uses SATA RAID to boot with but not for data. I've never had RAID on a home PC. But he has me thinking of getting 2 of them $49.99 200GB Maxtors to do it with

Last edited by jm1647; 28 Mar 2007 at 12:25 PM
jm1647 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Mar 2007, 12:24 PM   #172
An Eagles Fan, A MenuShrinker
 
jm1647's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NightTran View Post
I dont know if this is relate or not, I have 4 Sata drives, I can down load to one, convert with two and burn from the last one to one of my IDE burner at the same time and never have problem

Nice Running at 150 or 300 ?
jm1647 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Mar 2007, 12:26 PM   #173
King of Digital Video
King of Digital Video
 
NightTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: eastcoast, on the beach
Posts: 4,224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jm1647 View Post
Nice Running at 150 or 300 ?
they all are 300, I dont know how to do Raid
NightTran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Mar 2007, 12:27 PM   #174
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
katzdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,198
Default

Quote:
PCI/IDE add on cards, issues with BIOS/ buggy drivers. Don't worry about it 'till you cross that bridge
Cool Beans! I saw a card on Amazon that said IDE-Sata or Visa-Versa.. umm something card is THAT what the heck you guys are talking about?
Yeah, like that sorta. Gives you more available ports to work with, is the idea, but doesn't always go as planned, due to buggy drivers, lazy engineers, as Chewy says!
Quote:
You say that now, but wait 'till the burning "bug" bites you full force!
If I told you my second job you'd go "well dayum" and I don't have no "burning Bug" just one movie and one copy at a time.. no dups needed
Now we are all wonderin'
Quote:
So I am I to understand that IF later I Bought a sata larger drive it will work as a primary drive and can use it for the main/boot and the other 2 IDE HDs for back ups?
You can pretty much set it up how you want, BIOS settings, etc. The (2) 40 GB IDE's aren't very large for storage, but with 1 backup at a time, I guess that will work okay
Quote:
Well Chewy turned you ON to the same Mo-Bo and CPU, there is no reason it should not work!?
We'll know in a week or so, when I get this thing up & running!
Quote:
what do you do with all them printers?
Well, I use one for CD/DVD printing solely, one for "fast work" flyers, etc., & so on...
Quote:
does it SOUND like I am OK with the selections I have made?
I am worried to death
It's all good I wouldn't sweat it; todays' components are so fast/good, & anything you assemble at home will probably out-perform a store bought pc that would total over $1000 or more

Last edited by katzdvd; 28 Mar 2007 at 12:30 PM
katzdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Mar 2007, 12:35 PM   #175
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
katzdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,198
Default

Quote:
Most of what we do with DVD's like ripping/burning, encoding/transcoding wouldn't benefit from the SATA II but booting from one I think would be nice. ghetocowboy mentioned he uses SATA RAID to boot with but not for data.
The bottleneck here is the mechanical aspect of the drive, not the interface, at least that is what I have learned on another forum. I guess a higher rotational speed would be of benefit.
katzdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Mar 2007, 12:50 PM   #176
An Eagles Fan, A MenuShrinker
 
jm1647's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by katzdvd View Post
The bottleneck here is the mechanical aspect of the drive, not the interface, at least that is what I have learned on another forum. I guess a higher rotational speed would be of benefit.
Yeah higher RPMS would be good too. I meant with the slow ripping of DVDs by the ripping burner/ROM and encoding/transcoding them slows the process down too. These new fangled high RPM, super duper Ultra 133, SATA I, SATA II HDDs got my head spinning

@ NightTran - all at 300 is nice
jm1647 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Mar 2007, 12:56 PM   #177
King of Digital Video
King of Digital Video
 
NightTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: eastcoast, on the beach
Posts: 4,224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jm1647 View Post
Yeah higher RPMS would be good too. I meant with the slow ripping of DVDs by the ripping burner/ROM and encoding/transcoding them slows the process down too. These new fangled high RPM, super duper Ultra 133, SATA I, SATA II HDDs got my head spinning

@ NightTran - all at 300 is nice
I had 150 in once ( wrong cable) but it slow other drive down so I took it off
NightTran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Mar 2007, 05:03 AM   #178
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
katzdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,198
Default

Chewy - I received the Thermaltake "heatpipe" CPU cooler today. I am kinda wondering about all that weight hanging off the side of the CPU socket;

I mean, this thing weighs 1 1/2 lb., or very close to it - seems like a lot of weight to be pulling on that little soldered-in socket; what has been your experience with these?
katzdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Mar 2007, 05:13 AM   #179
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

don't drop the tower, it would probably bust off the socket

should be fine otherwise, which one did you get?
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Mar 2007, 06:20 AM   #180
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
katzdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,198
Default

This one - it pulls the heat away from the cpu, instead of blowing on it.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106068

I know the cooling solutions can be "heavy"; I once did an overclock "celeron sandwich" set-up that had heatsinks both sides/4 fans - that was a heavy sonofagun too! Looked something like this;



I was always concerned about that weight pulling on the delicate electronics of the mobo, & with the vibration of everything running...
katzdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Specialists Needed For Computer Build And Fixing Phillip General Computing 33 26 Mar 2007 02:56 AM
New help to build new pc pupa General Computing 0 1 Feb 2007 07:21 PM
ImgBurn build vs PgcEdit (mkisofs.exe) build Dialysis1 ImgBurn 5 7 Dec 2006 10:14 AM
DDR or DDR2 SDRAM for my new build computer? burnselk Junior Members/Newbies 2 10 Jul 2006 10:13 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 09:57 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com