Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > General > General Computing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19 May 2008, 12:57 PM   #16
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

I had hoped we could test the new disk as a repair disk, but since you have media edition
we'd better not, have you started the slipstream?
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 May 2008, 09:19 PM   #17
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

No I haven't. I'll get started soon enough w/the nlite guide and post back. I downloaded sp3 to my hd like you suggested though I didn't create a folder for it. That Ok?
__________________
SAMSUNG SH-S203B, SAMSUNG SH-S223F,

Take the suggestions and follow the directions. The results will speak for themselves.



Google is definitely our friend.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 May 2008, 09:38 PM   #18
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

I have 2 hard drives, I am keeping

WindowsXP-KB936929-SP3-x86-ENU.exe
intact on one data partition, use nlite to extract cab files to a work folder on my other drive and then apply the sp and then tell nlite to create a bootable iso from that folder
back on the other drive

I am making a few versions for my work on client's computers
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2008, 01:26 AM   #19
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

I'm getting started now w/the guide. I'm looking to get rid of mostly anything I really don't use. Do you usually strip your oem xp disc down to the bare essentials? If so, in your experience what do you suggest keeping in regards to video and audio work etc...
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2008, 01:55 AM   #20
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

I leave the cab files alone, keep it simple
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2008, 02:35 AM   #21
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy View Post
I leave the cab files alone, keep it simple
Ok. I'm at the options window. I clicked all and slipstreamed sp3 already. Now it asks if I want to add the previous hotfixes, patches, add-ons etc.. these needed or just keep cab files?

Last edited by dr_ml422; 20 May 2008 at 02:50 AM
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2008, 02:49 AM   #22
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

just show it the sp after extracting the cab files, like i said keep it simple

we are just trying to slipstream sp3 into the xpsp2 cab files, that's all
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2008, 04:20 AM   #23
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy View Post
just show it the sp after extracting the cab files, like i said keep it simple

we are just trying to slipstream sp3 into the xpsp2 cab files, that's all
I don't know what to do. At what part of nlite do I get to the cab files? I've seen them in windows but where would I extract them to? Thought we were getting rid of anything we don't need. I'm lost...
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2008, 04:31 AM   #24
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

put that new cd in one of your burners

open nlite

it will ask you from where to locate the windows installation

show it the cd

then it asks where to save the modified files to

name a folder on your hard drive

it will copy the cabsetall from the cd to that folder
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2008, 04:41 AM   #25
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

It's already done. I already copied it to a folder on my hd from my burner. So now just click next until it says to finish or w/e? sp3 is already slipstreamed. does this oem need all the hotfixes, patches extra for it to work? if not I'll just go to the end and finish.

I went str8 to the end and when I clicked to save or finish orw/e it says I got a run time error from nlite. What did I do wrong?

Last edited by dr_ml422; 20 May 2008 at 04:46 AM
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2008, 05:04 AM   #26
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

once it's copied to that folder you point it at the sp and it slipstreams

look at the folder
it should have the same folders and files basically as the disk but with a sp3 hidden file
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2008, 05:05 AM   #27
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

next you reopen nlite and tell it to make a bootable iso, don't burn
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2008, 05:20 AM   #28
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

I did it. nlite slip streams it into the folder for you. y the run time error though? Now I could just burn it in build mode w/imgburn right?
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2008, 05:20 AM   #29
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

ok. I'll post back.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2008, 05:28 AM   #30
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

We did it. Now all I have to do is burn it on a cd or dvd? does it matter?

Anyhow, later we'll strip it of what's not really needed?

Last edited by dr_ml422; 20 May 2008 at 05:44 AM
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm Clueless on My First Build- Help! PurpleDemon General Computing 6 22 Jan 2008 10:43 AM
New help to build new pc pupa General Computing 0 1 Feb 2007 07:21 PM
ImgBurn build vs PgcEdit (mkisofs.exe) build Dialysis1 ImgBurn 5 7 Dec 2006 10:14 AM
Img build mode durkinjt ImgBurn 9 4 Oct 2006 08:57 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:07 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com