Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > General > General Computing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 3.75 average. Display Modes
Old 12 Jan 2006, 10:31 AM   #31
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

That's why turning off system restore will be one of the last tweaks!
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2006, 10:50 AM   #32
Just Trying To Help
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada Region 1
Posts: 7,524
Default

Say it ain't so chewy.

Last edited by soup; 12 Jan 2006 at 10:54 AM
soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2006, 10:52 AM   #33
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Derree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Regina Sask Canada
Posts: 546
Default

hey Chewy..if I post my pc specs can you tell me what you think and what I can do to make it better?
__________________




Turn down the suck...Turn up the
good
-------------------------------------------
Derree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2006, 10:58 AM   #34
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

@ Derree

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4181.html

after downloading and installing, there's a screen called overclock in the
computer section

copy and paste that report into a reply
But don't include all those zeros at the bottom!

@ soup
Yes, it's so! The point of a power user setup is to put you in the driver's seat! It's kind of
like taking the training wheels off your first bike.

Last edited by Chewy; 12 Jan 2006 at 11:05 AM
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2006, 11:01 AM   #35
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Derree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Regina Sask Canada
Posts: 546
Default

will do Chewy...I am stuck at work for another hour or so (damn overtime) but will be able to do it in about 2 hours or so if you are online, cool, if not I am sure you will see it eventually...
Derree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2006, 11:01 AM   #36
Just Trying To Help
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada Region 1
Posts: 7,524
Default

I could have started a new thread for this but as this is computing 101 here goes.A real rookie ? When I am on the net and I see something I might like to save to a file instead of printing my default is excell (a spreadsheet).I would like to change it to (I was thinking word) but if there is something better.How do I do it?
soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2006, 11:13 AM   #37
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

save as?
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2006, 01:20 PM   #38
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Derree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Regina Sask Canada
Posts: 546
Default

Hope this is right Chewy

Field Value
CPU Properties
CPU Type AMD Athlon 64
CPU Alias Newcastle-256 S754
CPU Stepping DH-CG
CPUID CPU Name AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+
CPUID Revision 00000FC0h

CPU Speed
CPU Clock 1808.03 MHz
CPU Multiplier 9.0x
CPU FSB 200.89 MHz (original: 200 MHz)
Memory Bus 200.89 MHz

CPU Cache
L1 Code Cache 64 KB (Parity)
L1 Data Cache 64 KB (ECC)
L2 Cache 256 KB (On-Die, ECC, Full-Speed)

Motherboard Properties
Motherboard ID 10/29/2004-SiS-760-6A7I7A09-00
Motherboard Name Asus K8S-LA (3 PCI, 1 AGP, 2 DDR DIMM, Audio, Video, LAN, IEEE-1394)

Chipset Properties
Motherboard Chipset SiS 760GX, AMD Hammer
Memory Timings 3-3-3-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
Command Rate (CR) 2T

SPD Memory Modules
DIMM1: Micron Tech. 16VDDT6464AG-40BGB 512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (3.0-3-3-8 @ 200 MHz) (2.5-3-3-7 @ 166 MHz) (2.0-2-2-6 @ 133 MHz)

BIOS Properties
System BIOS Date 10/29/04
Video BIOS Date 05/07/02
Award BIOS Type Phoenix - Award BIOS v6.00PG
Award BIOS Message Copyright 2004 by Hewlett-Packard Company Rev. 3.04
DMI BIOS Version 3.04

Graphics Processor Properties
Video Adapter MSI G4Ti4200 (MS-8870)
GPU Code Name NV25 (AGP 4x 10DE / 0253, Rev A3)
GPU Clock 250 MHz
Memory Clock 223 MHz
Derree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2006, 02:44 PM   #39
Just Trying To Help
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada Region 1
Posts: 7,524
Default

It was that easy huh.I was trying to export.Thank you.Is above anything like Error Nuker or am I way off base.Found the answer never mind as usual I was way off base.

Last edited by soup; 12 Jan 2006 at 03:49 PM
soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2006, 04:37 PM   #40
Just Trying To Help
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada Region 1
Posts: 7,524
Default

Field Value
CPU Properties
CPU Type Intel Pentium 4
CPU Alias Northwood, A80532
CPU Stepping B0
Engineering Sample No
CPUID CPU Name Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.80GHz
CPUID Revision 00000F24h

CPU Speed
CPU Clock 1796.88 MHz (original: 1800 MHz)
CPU Multiplier 18.0x
CPU FSB 99.83 MHz (original: 100 MHz)
Memory Bus 133.10 MHz

CPU Cache
L1 Trace Cache 12K Instructions
L1 Data Cache 8 KB
L2 Cache 512 KB (On-Die, ECC, ATC, Full-Speed)

Motherboard Properties
Motherboard ID 10/04/2002-P4X400-8235-6A6LXS2AC-00
Motherboard Name Soyo P4X400 DRAGON Ultra Platinum Edition (5 PCI, 1 AGP Pro, 3 DIMM, Audio, LAN)

Chipset Properties
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8754 Apollo P4X400
Memory Timings 2-3-3-6 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
Command Rate (CR) 2T

SPD Memory Modules
DIMM1 512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (2.5-3-3-8 @ 200 MHz)
DIMM2 512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (2.5-3-3-8 @ 200 MHz)

BIOS Properties
System BIOS Date 10/04/02
Video BIOS Date 01/09/28
Award BIOS Type Phoenix-Award BIOS v6.00PG
Award BIOS Message P4VX2-2AA2
DMI BIOS Version 6.00 PG

Graphics Processor Properties
Video Adapter ATI Radeon 7500 DDR
GPU Code Name RV200 (AGP 4x 1002 / 5157, Rev 00)
GPU Clock 290 MHz (original: 290 MHz)
Memory Clock 230 MHz (original: 230 MHz)
If I am going to go through this I thought I might as well do the same.I just hope it worked.
soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2006, 04:58 PM   #41
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

soup, give me a little history on this, your memory is kicked down
to 133 from 200(but faster in cas 2 than cas 2.5) a bad tradeoff!
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2006, 11:46 PM   #42
Just Trying To Help
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada Region 1
Posts: 7,524
Default

This system was put together for us based on what we wanted to do at the time and trust me it was not going to be this involved.I am not saying that because I don't like doing all this but the person who put it together did it with answers that we gave him.

(A) backup movies maybe not even burn them store some (that is why the 320GB)
(B) my wife to keep lists movies/records/recipes etc

I just mean it was going to be very basic.We weren't even going to get the internet.So all this other stuff has evolved since we got the computer in August.If I don't have the system to go further and it wouldn't cost a lot we might be able to squeek upgrades in but I have to tell you budget is pretty limited.I don't know if this is what you wanted but as you know my knowledge of computers in general is limited.

Last edited by soup; 13 Jan 2006 at 12:02 AM
soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Jan 2006, 12:51 AM   #43
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

That's ok soup, but you might want to print what you posted and take it
by the shop where your computer was built and ask about the memory settings. It's something that I wouldn't go out of my way for. Often it's just a glitch in the way your computer sees your memory. That's why everest
is so valuable a tool.
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Jan 2006, 07:54 AM   #44
Just Trying To Help
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada Region 1
Posts: 7,524
Default

So bottom line basic chewy.How did this check turn out?I am all grown up ( most of the time anyway) I can take it.(I think)Should I go with

4.4/2048K/2000FSB/PC4400.

Last edited by soup; 13 Jan 2006 at 07:57 AM
soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Jan 2006, 08:06 AM   #45
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soup
So bottom line basic chewy.How did this check turn out?I am all grown up ( most of the time anyway) I can take it.(I think)Should I go with

4.4/2048K/2000FSB/PC4400.
?????????????????????????????????????????????????? ????????????????????

but, what should be done(IMHO) is this line
Quote:
Memory Bus 133.10 MHz
should read 200MHz

and this line
Quote:
Memory Timings 2-3-3-6 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
should match this specification exactly

Quote:
DIMM1 512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (2.5-3-3-8 @ 200 MHz)
DIMM2 512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (2.5-3-3-8 @ 200 MHz)
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inquiry on reputation function 2COOL General Discussions 180 7 Jan 2006 12:08 PM
burning DVD's and user accounts tac0_bell Blank Media and Burning 2 24 Mar 2005 12:35 PM
DVD-lab User Guide Now Available alangrus DVD Authoring and Editing 0 30 May 2003 11:17 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:56 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com