Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > General > General Computing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 8 Apr 2010, 11:45 AM   #16
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

I should get the 2nd Sharkoon tomorrow. So far I really like it. It does spin down the drive when idle but the only drive that bothers me doing that is an old 200 GB WD. When it spins down you can hear a loud click as some mechanical switch clicks off. That's a slow drive anyway and I'll only be using it occasionally. With the newer WDs you have to really listen for the drives spinning up and down. Not annoying at all.

I'll definitely be trying some copies from one Sharkoon to the other tomorrow.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Apr 2010, 01:51 PM   #17
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

It's going to fly believe me. When I transferred my video files I did it w/both my BlackX Thermal docking stations and from 1 pc to another when I had them networked. Those files flew. I could just imagine the 3.0. Mine went from 1e-sata dock to the USB 2.0.

BTW I registered Sandboxie.
__________________
SAMSUNG SH-S203B, SAMSUNG SH-S223F,

Take the suggestions and follow the directions. The results will speak for themselves.



Google is definitely our friend.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Apr 2010, 03:13 PM   #18
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

This is the best thing I bought for my PCs since I got the gigabit network card for the dual core. It's nice to be able to move large files around at snappy speeds. It's better than just having 2 internal drives because it's so easy the swap the drives around.

On Sandboxie, now that he finally supports 64 bit the program will stay relevant for years. It's especially cool because it's a single programmer who isn't trying to get you to pay up again every time he changes the version number. You can tell he just loves working the program and perfecting it.

Last edited by MilesAhead; 8 Apr 2010 at 03:15 PM
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Apr 2010, 03:26 PM   #19
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

I must have a built in Gigabit connection on my mobos if I'm not mistaken. Is this what it would be: [Atheros L1e Gigabit Lan controller featuring AI NET 2]. Let me know just in case I need to get a card myself. I haven't networked my 2 Builds yet because I was thinking of selling my 1st Build. Had some inquiries though nothing materialized.

Yes. The Sandboxie guy is otm. I'm slowly tweaking it now.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Apr 2010, 06:30 PM   #20
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

That sounds right on the network interface. My quad core came with the gigabit wired ethernet, but my dual core only had fast ethernet. I had to buy a 3rd party card and add it in as well as a gigabit switch. Took a bit of messing around to figure out the optimum settings for the card. I had to download the generic driver that everyone uses and do some trial and error. But it was worth it.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 Apr 2010, 02:47 AM   #21
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

I got the 2nd Sharkoon hooked up. Seems as expected so far. The copy from one to the other of the disks in the Sharkoon docks is close to the benchmark read speed of the drive you are pulling from. Of course if the write drive is slower eventually it slows down to sequential write speed or a bit below. But there's no bog just because it's going in one port on the card and out the other. My system HD doesn't show any access. The only "side effect" is when they are honking I can hear my system fans speed up a bit as they do when the quad core is in heavy use.

Nice and quiet though. When the WD drives spin up and down I have to listen to hear them even though they are right on the desk.

Only thing on putting on the desktop, even with the little feet you will feel some vibration from the docks unless you stick some mouepad strips under the feet or bubble pack or something to absorb the vibration.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Apr 2010, 12:39 PM   #22
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

After using the USB 3.0 stuff for about 3 weeks I have to say I'm very happy with the results. Reading from one dock and writing to the other really smooths out stuff like video muxing. Eliminates all that drive thrashing!!
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Apr 2010, 10:13 PM   #23
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Thumbs up It's a No Brainer 4 sure!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MilesAhead View Post
After using the USB 3.0 stuff for about 3 weeks I have to say I'm very happy with the results. Reading from one dock and writing to the other really smooths out stuff like video muxing. Eliminates all that drive thrashing!!
No doubt Miles. That's why I bought 2 Docking stations myself. Although both are USB 2.0 w/1 having e-sata the results and the wear and the thrashing that is virtually wiped out makes them a no brainer.

I'll be upgrading asaic to the USB 3.0 Docks. Letting things settle a bit as I'm eyeing to go Hi-def w/my builds a new Slim etc... That's a chunk of change iykwim.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2010, 06:44 AM   #24
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

If you happen to get the Sharkoon docks, I wrote a small Tray utility to keep them from spinning down from idle time-out. It's worked well for me so far. It's called DriveAlive. You can get from my download page:

http://www.favessoft.com/downloads.html

It's hard wired for 5 minutes but that should work with just about everything without accessing the drives too often.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2010, 09:27 PM   #25
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
atifsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Region Free Zone
Posts: 1,534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_ml422 View Post
I'm eyeing to go Hi-def w/my builds a new Slim etc... That's a chunk of change iykwim.
i recently did that with though 720P only 32" screen for my smallish room, got microsoft's win7 keyboard that has a builtin mouse.... very happy...

wife is not so happy as iv put the mistress into the room

dell xps connected to pioneer speakers with opti out, and dvi to lcd.

though i have an option to use the system with hdmi, but not sure what good i get with that on my current system.
__________________
Seems like as soon you buy somehing, v. 2 comes out 1.5 times as fast!..!
atifsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2010, 09:24 AM   #26
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MilesAhead View Post
After using the USB 3.0 stuff for about 3 weeks I have to say I'm very happy with the results. Reading from one dock and writing to the other really smooths out stuff like video muxing. Eliminates all that drive thrashing!!
Looks like I shouldn't have said anything. One of my Sharkoon docks has a defective power switch. It's the push it goes in, push it again it pops out type. That dock the switch never felt right from day one. For all the hassle I may just try to bring it someplace and see what they charge me to put a switch in it.

It's a shame because my video muxing was kicking ass!!
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2010, 01:48 PM   #27
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
doctorhardware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In the land of Ice & Snow
Posts: 1,907
Default

Is there any screws on the bottom of the case if there is open it up. Also if you can, take a picture of the switch, I might be able to help you out. You might be abe to fix it by remote control.
__________________
Star Baby Girl, Born March,1997 Died June 30th 2007 6:35 PM.
doctorhardware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2010, 04:17 PM   #28
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

I'll take you up on it if I have to. I got a mail back from the seller. I might be able to swap it for another. It's too bad because these things honk. They must have licensed it from Thermaltake because it's almost exactly the same. Just not quite as solid a construction.

I'll see how it goes with the replacement route.
Thanks for the offer.

btw the weird thing is I temporarily have the BlacX USB 2.0 plugged into the card. I'm getting about 38 MB/sec read rate. I'll be able to limp along until I get another 3.0 dock.


At first I did start to take it apart but I wasn't sure how the connectors and button were going to ease out. Figured I'd try the email to the seller before breaking it myself.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2010, 05:24 PM   #29
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
doctorhardware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In the land of Ice & Snow
Posts: 1,907
Default

Too bad there is not a retail location near you that sells it. If there is just, do a swap and return the bad one. That way there would be no wait.
doctorhardware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Apr 2010, 05:33 AM   #30
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default

I kept waiting for Thermaltake to come out with this but even after a video demo of BlacX 3.0 USB dock I saw no retail versions available. This Sharkoon is made in Germany I think. What I'll do is tell 'em I want a refund. Then send the stuff back. I'll just buy another dock. I went through this before with a modem. Got another modem free but by than time I bought a replacement. Got tired of surfing at half speed for months!

I'll think I'll try the SIIG model. I think it has no power button but a fan that's on all the time to chill the drive. I'd rather risk being out some $$ than sit around waiting for them to send a replacement. Once they have you on the string there's no incentive to hurry it up.

edit: these guys are saying they can put through another expedited order, and refund when they get the return. But they expect me to pay to ship it insured. Right!! Like I have nothing better to do.

Maybe I'll just hang onto it and one day stick the switch in if I can find out what holds the stuff together once the screws are removed. That's why I try to keep online purchases < $100. Just to avoid these hassles.

Last edited by MilesAhead; 29 Apr 2010 at 06:24 AM
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Make A Connection Between A Sound Card And A Tv Card Phillip General Computing 14 7 Nov 2006 04:08 PM
X-Card Georges_Kaplan Other File Formats 6 14 Feb 2002 01:33 AM
X Card !!!!!!!! Georges_Kaplan Other File Formats 0 8 Feb 2002 12:13 PM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:13 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com