Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > General > General Computing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19 Nov 2012, 09:28 PM   #1
NOT an online superstore
 
drfsupercenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,424
Default Using a PS3 with Component/Composite

I'm just curious, I know there are component cables for PS3 (I have one), and I lost my original composite cable.

My Xbox 360 came with a cable that has a switch on it between TV and HDTV, and had all 6 plugs, the yellow/red/white plus the 3 component plugs.

Is there something similar for PS3? Right now I'm using HDMI, but due to it using HDCP, in order to record gameplay I need to use a component cable instead. And it would be nice to have the composite option just so I can take it to friends' houses and not need to worry if their TV will support it.

I did find one on Buy.com that has all 6 plugs, but no switch to speak of... so how does that work? If you set it to 720p or higher, does it just break the yellow plug? The only official Sony ones I can find are component cables - all the composite ones are generic replacements.

--EDIT--

http://www.buy.com/prod/playstation-...207873840.html
That, specifically.
__________________
CYA Later:

d̃ŗf̉śŭp̣ễr̀šŰǹt̉ếř
Visit my website!!

Cool Characters Make your text cool
My DVD Collection

Last edited by drfsupercenter; 19 Nov 2012 at 09:39 PM
drfsupercenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2012, 12:50 AM   #2
Administrator
 
admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,405
Default

There is a component cable for the PS3, this is the official Sony one:

Amazon.com: PS3 Component AV Cable: Video Games

This cable only does component (red, green, blue for video), not composite (yellow for video), so that's why there's no switch (it only has 5 cables, not 6 like the Xbox 360 adapter).

The one on Buy.com is probably not the official cable, and probably includes the composite along with the component. I would guess that it outputs to both types of video outputs at the same time, so there's no need for a switch to switch between the two types.
__________________
Visit Digital Digest and dvdloc8.com, My Blog
admin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2012, 04:03 AM   #3
NOT an online superstore
 
drfsupercenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,424
Default

So the system can actually handle outputting 480i via composite AND 720p (or 1080i) via component through the same cable at the same time?

For the Xbox 360, you have to pick.

Also, am I correct in assuming that the PS3 won't do 1080p via component? I know it's not really supported by the component standard, but the Xbox 360 will do it, provided your TV can understand the signal. And my new capture card will recognize it as well. (Though the Xbox 360 doesn't use HDCP so I'm just using HDMI, it's easier.)
drfsupercenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2012, 11:52 AM   #4
Administrator
 
admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,405
Default

I think there's a system setting that switches between the various output types. I think if you hold the power button just after starting up the machine, it resets the output to the default (probably composite if it does not detect a plugged in HDMI cable).

There's no 1080p support via component, but there's 1080i.
admin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Composite In to VGA Out cables milkweed7654 General Discussions 0 29 Jul 2010 03:39 PM
composite to DIVX nedjinski DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding 1 16 Feb 2004 10:48 AM
7-pin composite-like connector Cartoon Moon DivX/XviD Playback 0 28 Dec 2003 11:39 AM
What's a composite cable? rh71 Other File Formats 1 6 Mar 2002 06:40 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:36 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com