Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > MP4, MKV, MPEG-4 AVC (H.264)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 18 Aug 2008, 08:46 AM   #16
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

Hi admin. I downloaded and installed quicktime alternative. When I finished installing it a window popped up asking me if I wanted to buy the quicktime pro and if I wanted to register it. I clicked on cancel. Is that always going to pop up? it is freeware right? Probably a different version. I downloaded it from filehippo. They're a reputable source for freeware.
__________________
SAMSUNG SH-S203B, SAMSUNG SH-S223F,

Take the suggestions and follow the directions. The results will speak for themselves.



Google is definitely our friend.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Nov 2008, 07:11 AM   #17
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

Hi admin. I'm catching up now on using my pc to view the .mov or wmv files. What's the best way to download and install QuickTime Alternative if there is one? Also is the latest version of QuickTime Alternative pretty stable as of now. Thnx.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Nov 2008, 01:55 PM   #18
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,500
Exclamation

Hi folks,

To dr_ml & Admin ...

dr_ml ... I am not sure what version of QT Alternative (QTA) you downloaded ad used ... but from my cursory quick reading of various posts on QTA I see there are some complaints on later versions ... it seems thatr versions 1.48 and 1.63 might be the good ones. the later one 2.70 it has been said it hogs your system!!!

Not sure since I have not installed or used it! So ... I'll wait the other folks feedback!

G!
gonwk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2008, 02:02 AM   #19
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

I'm waiting also to hear from admin or some of the other fellas that have experience w/it myself. My last experience w/Apple was I-Tunes and it messed my pc up. I'll prolly check out MPC and then download it if less of a headache posted about it.

Want to start using this build of mine to its potential and not just for burning and purchasing. Lol...
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Nov 2008, 02:38 PM   #20
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

Admin this MPC is awesome. It's a .exe file so I extracted it to my desktop. That's ok right?
I thought it would be an install file that went into my program files folder. Watching a flic right now.

Get back at me when you get a chance. Let me know if I need any xtra goodies for viewing any H.264. Thnx.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Nov 2008, 04:50 PM   #21
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

Wow I just played back The Terminator H.264 clip. Unbelievable. I'm getting there. Used VLC. Admin if you could suggest a reputable site for a decent 5.1 surround system and maybe including that spdif jack I'd appreciate it. I could just imagine my PC putting out hi-def audio. It was w/my 2.1 and it sounded good. I thought the forum was a gold mine. That DD home is off the hook. Could never figure out why so many guests and no new members. Oh well they're loss.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 May 2009, 10:54 PM   #22
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Monster Encoder

Too complicated guys. I am using Monster Encoder to to encode files. I use this because I just need to upload my file into a server and then receive my file by following a link.
I can show you a part of my work if you are interested
cata12ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Dec 2009, 06:41 AM   #23
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Default

hi admin. i want to ask you about staxrip.
i just downloaded a new version of staxrip and cannot found a way to proceed to step 2 (selecting the profile). I can't find any profile in it. Is it have to be imported from outside or what? and how to import it
Please admin, i need some help
ariefjuga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Dec 2009, 01:27 PM   #24
Administrator
 
admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,363
Default

The guide was written for an older version of StaxRip, so the profiles have changed. But the latest version of StaxRip I just downloaded (1.1.2.3 Beta: http://sourceforge.net/projects/stax...ta.7z/download) includes a bunch of profiles, although different to the ones I've listed in the guides. If you can't see any profiles, then I'm not sure what could be the problem, but I've exported and attached the profiles from 1.1.2.3 betas that you can download and manually import.

I'll try to update the guide in the near future.
Attached Files
File Type: rar staxrip_profiles.rar‎ (55.7 KB, 197 views)
__________________
Visit Digital Digest and dvdloc8.com, My Blog
admin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Dec 2009, 08:28 PM   #25
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Default

this is a preview of my staxrip. Is it normal or it missing something?


and my staxrip is 1.1.2.3 too.
And thanks for your help extracting and attach the profil in this thread, but i don't know how to import it. I dont find any command to importing a profile in staxrip. Do you mind to show me the way? I'm Sorry if i bother you.
ariefjuga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Dec 2009, 11:31 PM   #26
Administrator
 
admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,363
Default

The profiles looks different to my setup (see attached screenshot). Just to make sure we both have the same version, the file I downloaded was called "StaxRip_1.1.2.3_beta.7z" and it was 22.4 MB (23,567,643 bytes). If your file is different, download it again from the link I gave you above.

Make sure you've "installed" StaxRip by extracting the contents of the .7z file to a new folder on your hard-drive (for example, extract to c:\staxrip\, so that only the StaxRip executable, ReadFirst! and the "Applications" folder sits in this directory).

Also, when you first start StaxRip, if this is the first time you've used it, it will ask you where you want the settings directory (see attached screenshot). I've found that by deleting this directory, I can reset my list of encoder profiles. To delete (or better, rename) your StaxRip setting directory, first start StaxRip, from the "Tools" menu, select "Directories" -> "Settings". Close StaxRip. This should open up the folder containing your StaxRip settings in Windows Explorer. Go up one directory and locate the "StaxRip" folder, rename it to "StaxRip Old". Start StaxRip again and hopefully, the profiles should have reset it self (it might ask you again where you want your settings directory, just choose the "Common Application Data" directory).

If all else fails, you can import directories. To import the profiles, first download and extract the RAR package to a new folder on your hard-drive (there should be a bunch of files). Then start StaxRip and go to Profiles -> Encoder -> select the "Edit" option (it's just below the "Misc" encoder option in your screenshot above), and then use the Import button, go to the folder where you extracted the profile files, and then load them in (you can select more than one file at a time).
Attached Thumbnails
H.264 Encoding using StaxRip-encoder_profiles.png   H.264 Encoding using StaxRip-settings_dir.png  
admin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Dec 2009, 12:51 AM   #27
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Default

thanks for your help Admin finally i get what's wrong exactly with my staxrip. After i checked the application version, it seems that i downloading the wrong "new version", its still 1.1.1.3 beta version My bad.

thanks for giving me the correct address to download staxrip.
Attached Thumbnails
H.264 Encoding using StaxRip-staxrip-betul.jpg  
ariefjuga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Dec 2009, 02:59 AM   #28
Administrator
 
admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,363
Default

Glad it all worked out for you. As I mentioned before, the guide that this thread refers to is for an older version of StaxRip, so parts of it will no longer be accurate, but should still give you a fair idea of how to use this software. If you have any other questions, please feel free to post them here.
admin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommended Seetings for OnTheFly Encoding from Capture? SnakEye AVI, DivX/Xvid 10 27 Apr 2006 05:09 AM
what is H.264? lamar Junior Members/Newbies 2 14 Apr 2006 08:51 PM
Audio & Subtitle problem kr0n0s AVI, DivX/Xvid 0 28 Apr 2004 10:44 AM
DivX Multipass encoding Eremit AVI, DivX/Xvid 15 4 Mar 2004 01:31 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:09 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com