Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > TMPGEnc

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14 Nov 2006, 12:14 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In front of the Computer
Posts: 6
Default Converted avi to mpg using TMPGenc but I no longer have audio!

Hi All...

I wasn't sure whether this was the appropriate sub-forum in which to post but since it says Junior Members/Newbies, I took a risk

I have an avi file; G-Spot says that the Video Codec is xVid and the Audio Codec is AC3. I used TMPGenc to convert it into an mpg (Thank you LT. Columbo, brilliant guide). When I playback the mpg, I find I have no sound.

I don't know if this is relevant, but when I click on properties of the avi file, it shows me the duration and bit rate but not the audio format. In fact, I went back and checked a couple of other avi files that I had and none of them showed the audio format in properties.

Any thoughts would be really appreciated!

I would also like to say and thank you to the administrator and the moderators of Digital Digest for the Guides and FAQs. You see, I absolutely bring new meaning to the term newbie... I had to start out by reading the FAQ on what are VOB, IFO and BUP files!
flamewinds is offline  
Old 14 Nov 2006, 12:17 AM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

U r probably missing the AC3 codec.
Also,open ur AVI in Virtualdub and post the File Information.
Does the original AVI play correctly(as regards audio) in ur PC?
And be sure to raise the Directshow Reader value in TMPGEnc Plus.
__________________

ONLY MOMENTS LINGER...DEWDROPS ON A FALLEN LEAF

Last edited by paglamon; 14 Nov 2006 at 12:31 AM
paglamon is offline  
Old 14 Nov 2006, 12:32 AM   #3
Banned
 
ed klein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Over The Edge
Posts: 880
Default

TMPGEnc Basic or TMPGEnc Plus does not except AC3 audio as input.

TMPGEnc excepts the d2v video file and the wave audio file as input.
Output is the m2v video file at 4.7gb or less and the mp2 audio file, seperate individual streams or combined streams.

Have to use other software programs to convert to the streams you want. DGIndex will give you a fast & quick d2v,wave, AC-3 stream.


Last edited by ed klein; 14 Nov 2006 at 12:37 AM
ed klein is offline  
Old 14 Nov 2006, 12:55 AM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In front of the Computer
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you for the prompt replies

Paglamon - Yes, I do have the AC3 Codec installed; when I did the avi to mpg encoding, I had v0.70 installed. After the little boo-boo, I went online and downloaded the latest codec - v1.11. Although I have not tried to encode the avi again, I'm still not getting the audio format in file properties.
Yes, the file plays fine (DivX Player, PowerDVD and Windows Media Player)
Uuuhh...DirectShow Reader Value?

Ed Klein - I used TMPGenc Plus; Lt. Columbo's Guide was for Basic avi to DVD conversion, he used TMPGenc Plus and the audio stream was AC3 encoded. He also did mentioned "If your avi with AC3 audio crashes TMPGenc, Use "AC3FIX" to correct it. TMPGEnc (and several other programs) are very finicky about correct AC3 headers - and it seems that most XVID-AC3 files do NOT have the "perfect" AC3 headers." but since my avi did not crash TMPGenc, I assumed everything was alright... (I'm not trying to contradict you on the AC3 thing, really! Just that I'm at the stage where I need step by step instructions, preferably with pictures!)

I have neither VirtualDub nor DGIndex. Are these free software?
I think I'll try the conversion one more time, with the AC3FIX mentioned by Lt. Columbo.
If I can get hold of VirtualDub, I will post the file information...
OMG, 2 hours of encoding and won't be able to do anything else on the computer in the meantime.. patience is a virtue, ain't it!

Thanks again!

Last edited by flamewinds; 14 Nov 2006 at 12:57 AM Reason: Typos
flamewinds is offline  
Old 14 Nov 2006, 01:09 AM   #5
Banned
 
ed klein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Over The Edge
Posts: 880
Default

Encoding overnight for me. Usually two to four hours using TMPGEnc Plus or DVD Rebuilder or HC019.1. Sleep on the encoding time.

Transcoding with DVD Shrink approximately 30-45 minutes.

DGIndex is freeware---VOBS input, output usually wave, AC-3, d2v, and m2v uncompressed


ed klein is offline  
Old 14 Nov 2006, 01:18 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In front of the Computer
Posts: 6
Default

Ok, First Step - Download DGIndex
Step 2: Start the encoding.
Step 3: Go to sleep!

Actually encoding overnight makes sense. Thanks! Will post an update when done..

flamewinds is offline  
Old 14 Nov 2006, 01:37 AM   #7
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Quote:
Uuuhh...DirectShow Reader Value?
In TMPGEnc Plus OPTION/Environmental Settings/VFAPI Plugin right click on Directshow Multimedia File Reader and raise the priority so that this becomes the highest in the list(usually +2 will suffice).
U can also separate the audio and save as WAV using Virtualdub.Then use this audio in TMPGEnc. Columbo has also suggested this in his guide.
BTW,there is a nice single-click tool for avi to dvd,but not free.....ConvertXto DVD.U can try it.
paglamon is offline  
Old 14 Nov 2006, 05:18 AM   #8
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

hi

for simplicity, use this method to solve your problem
FAQ: TMPGEnc has no audio on output file

thread moved to TMPGEnc forum.
__________________
"One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
Columbo moments...
"Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
"You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
(An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)


LT. Columbo is offline  
Old 14 Nov 2006, 11:20 PM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In front of the Computer
Posts: 6
Default

Aah.. I see the thread has been moved to the appropriate sub-forum.. thanks Lt. Columbo!

Quote:
In TMPGEnc Plus OPTION/Environmental Settings/VFAPI Plugin right click on Directshow Multimedia File Reader and raise the priority so that this becomes the highest in the list(usually +2 will suffice).
Oh, ok, that sounds familiar.. it was in the guide, and yes I did that the first time..

Quote:
U r probably missing the AC3 codec
You know how sometimes you hear everything someone is saying and you still miss the point? You were right.. What I had was AC3 filter... I even downloaded the latest version.. it just so happens that I didn't have the AC3 ACM decompressor installed!

Well, I encoded once after installing the latest version of AC3 filter. Of course, my output mpg still had no sound. Then I got the AC3 codec and encoded again; huh! My output mpg still has no sound.

Now I've found a avi splitter and decided to experiment on a 20 MB clip, not the full 700 MB... waiting 2.5 hours to find it ain't working is really, really irritating.

Thanks for all your input. Going back to try it again using the guide Lt. Columbo has suggested..
flamewinds is offline  
Old 14 Nov 2006, 11:48 PM   #10
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

you can use the start/end frames to select a range so you don't have to wait the 2.5 hrs, or just hit "abort" after a few seconds to see if it will have sound. you must make the wav file and load that as the audio source in TMPGEnc - good luck
LT. Columbo is offline  
Old 16 Nov 2006, 06:45 AM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In front of the Computer
Posts: 6
Default

Just an update...
Extracted the AC3 stream using VirtualDub; working on the wav conversion.. trying out various settings since my output wav (using px3converter) is severely distorted for some reason, especially when i amplify the wav..
Trying to figure out what's happening; will be back to ask if I cant..
flamewinds is offline  
Old 16 Nov 2006, 06:48 AM   #12
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

try a test with no amplification, make sure the AC3 file demuxed with virtualdubmod plays and sounds ok, if it won't play this file with media player classic, run it through besliced first, use this new AC3 file to convert to the wav. also remember the wav file is just to get TMPGEnc to encode, you'll want to use the AC3 file for the final audio source when you author it.
http://dspguru.notrace.dk/BeSlicedv0.2.zip

Last edited by LT. Columbo; 16 Nov 2006 at 06:50 AM
LT. Columbo is offline  
Old 1 Dec 2006, 06:59 PM   #13
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In front of the Computer
Posts: 6
Default

Hi All!
Sorry about the delay in getting back to you guys... nasty spyware infection, had to format the comp...Aaargh!

Yeah! Finally did it!
Since the wav was just a dummy file required to get TMPGEnc to encode (somehow, I didn't quite get this bit!), I tried a test with no amplification where I got very little distortion... then I went ahead and encoded it, following the steps from Lt. Columbo's guide... and voila!

Then I went and did the original avi (and yes, I did leave it overnight to encode!).. It worked! It plays back perfectly... no distortion (at least none that i can hear, which is good enough for me!) Yippee!

Thank you so very very much for your help! You rule!

Now I'm off to learn how to rip my DVDs!
Cheers!
flamewinds is offline  
Old 2 Dec 2006, 02:53 AM   #14
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

glad you got it sorted out
LT. Columbo is offline  
Old 10 Jan 2007, 07:51 PM   #15
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 82
Default AC3 in TDA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LT. Columbo View Post
remember the wav file is just to get TMPGEnc to encode, you'll want to use the AC3 file for the final audio source when you author it.
I know that I'm probably asking a really dumb question, but still...
How do you use the AC3 in TMPGEnc DVD Author? I've been converting .avi files and I think I've been correctly following LT's guide (without which I'd still be in the middle of nowhere) and I can't remember seeing anything about AC3 in the authoring.
I ask because not all conversions have been perfect and I was wondering if this might be the cause.
Chokito is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVI can't be converted by TMPGenc Shadowofthedark Junior Members/Newbies 1 7 Mar 2006 05:39 PM
No audio in converted MPEG file using TMPGEnc lythanhman General Discussions 3 3 Oct 2003 07:34 AM
360 & 330 MB avi converted with TMPGenc into MPEG-2 & got 911 & 730 MB realas General Discussions 4 18 Apr 2003 10:22 AM
VCD converted file has no Audio please help fun88 Conversion/Encoding 2 17 May 2002 07:41 AM
Please Help,converted file Has No Audio fun88 DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding 8 16 May 2002 10:05 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:22 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com