Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Authoring and Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 6 Aug 2005, 02:21 AM   #61
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
mrlimpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by FallenAngel
Never heard of this before - Programs typically don't "break" after a period of time
I would need to start by seeing the VIDEO_TS.ifo and VTS_01 ifo. of the faulty files
What settings are checked in the Settings?
And are you readding menu's Generic or Original?
Which Ver (s) broke 2.001,2.002 or prior

Files are attached.

In TW the only thing checked is "Start Play With Movie". In Menu Choices the number is "1".

The Menu Template was something with "bittersweet" in the name. The name was greyed-out because the file was nonexistent.

I'm using ver 2.001. previous version was 1.64.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Video .ifo files.zip‎ (48.7 KB, 289 views)
mrlimpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Aug 2005, 06:15 AM   #62
Digital Video Specialist
Digital Video Specialist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 816
Default

I see a number of problems in the ifo file either created by Ulead or modified by TW.
More info needed.
Heres what I've been able to determine

Pls verify if I am all Wet:
Pre TW your compiliation comprised the first 2 episodes/dvd's of Victoria DVD series- done with Ulead VS with a menu created/added by Ulead VS.
The Menu used only supports 1 title (? from original DVD --- PS using a 1 titleset menu on a 2 titleset compiliation is shaky at best)
TW did not readd the menu (everything in that area of TW was greyed out and you just made DVD_TEXT changes)

Then try this Boot TW and select your compiliation ->UNDO changes and see if it plays on your computer. If it doesn't play your problems are earlier then TW in Ulead

If it does play then make some DVD_text changes with add Menu Unchecked and Save Changes again
Check if it plays again on computer
If it plays -readd menu's back in(if you did originally in TW)
See if it plays on computer

Inside the UNDO folder there are the .ifo files Pls send them all to me.
Zip up TW.log with the above ifo's and send to me

Last edited by FallenAngel; 6 Aug 2005 at 07:35 PM
FallenAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Aug 2005, 09:36 PM   #63
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default Stubborn movie title

Love this program. A Godsend for my Sony 995 multichanger.

I do find some DVD's that don't seem to want to show their titles in spite of being altered with titlewriter. Is this to be expected? One movie in particular, "Reservoir Dogs", is giving me fits.

thx
1nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Aug 2005, 05:57 AM   #64
Digital Video Specialist
Digital Video Specialist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 816
Default

No Its not normal at all.
I thought that area of the proggie was rock solid.
Pls Zip up the file Video_TS.ifo with probs Then Undo changes -> and zip also.
So I can see the pre TW and post
Post here with the TW ver. you are using

Last edited by FallenAngel; 26 Aug 2005 at 05:59 AM
FallenAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Aug 2005, 08:10 PM   #65
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default stubborn movie title

Quote:
Originally Posted by FallenAngel
No Its not normal at all.
I thought that area of the proggie was rock solid.
Pls Zip up the file Video_TS.ifo with probs Then Undo changes -> and zip also.
So I can see the pre TW and post
Post here with the TW ver. you are using
Hi FA...using version 2.002. I'm going to try once more with a fresh rip before I take up your time needlessly. I'm ripping with shrink in conjunction with anydvd. Will get a before and after for you if problem persists.

thx
1nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Aug 2005, 09:27 PM   #66
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default RE Stubborn Movie Title

Hi again FA. This time it worked. Only thing I did differently was to use RW blank at 4x.

TitleWriter is rock solid. I guess all I needed was your affirmation.

thx a million for this great tool!!
1nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Aug 2005, 05:39 AM   #67
Digital Video Specialist
Digital Video Specialist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 816
Default

The Masked (Bad media - Burning to fast) error strikes again.
I've given up burning anything at over 2x. Just to unreliable even with decent disks. Haven't had a bad burn in over a year.(500 disks)
FallenAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Sep 2005, 10:31 PM   #68
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 62
Default

Hi Fallenangel,Ive used your program with Shrink to burn single layer discs with no problems.
I just started burning some dual layer discs,but i'm having some problems.
Maybe you can help.
Is there a way to add the text to an ISO without creating the VIDEO_TS folder?
Just somehow add it to the pure ISO file?
When I create the VIDEO_TS folder so I can add the text,it somehow messes with the layer break,and the sony dvp cx985v has trouble reading the second layer.
Thanks
raddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Sep 2005, 02:33 AM   #69
Digital Video Specialist
Digital Video Specialist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 816
Default TW and ISO's

No - Its virtually impossible. I don't think any Modification Program like TW,PGCedit,MenuShrink,ifoedit etc can use iso's.

Since all my backups are movie (Shrink reauthor) only. I TW everything for menu addition,Dvd Text I don't save shrink output as an iso but as a target folder (Burning with Nero). Are you saying that shrink is creating a faulty layer break for dl disks (non iso target) or TW is screwing up the layer break.
FallenAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Sep 2005, 06:25 AM   #70
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 62
Default

I'm not sure but I don't think it's TW or Shrink.
I think it's just the Sony 985v that's the problem,because the disc plays fine in my playstation.Or it could be the discs i'm using.

On a different note:
If I want to add an original menu back to a movie only reauthor and I want to have the movie start as normal(but still be able to access the chapter menu)which box do I check under the "DVD player start options" heading.
raddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Sep 2005, 06:37 AM   #71
Digital Video Specialist
Digital Video Specialist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 816
Default

Start Play with Movie, The remotes menu button accesses the menu sys as normal. Start with VMG uses the original navigation commands as is (Used with menutemplates and sometimes with an original. Start with menu (Vts 1)
starts play with the menu sys.
FallenAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Sep 2005, 11:41 AM   #72
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 62
Default

Ok, i'm having trouble with this particular dvd.I reauthored with Shrink,opened up TW and checked add menu and selected menu template from original dvd.
It adds the menu but when I select a particular chapter it just restarts from the beginning.
Am I doing something wrong?
raddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Sep 2005, 05:47 PM   #73
Digital Video Specialist
Digital Video Specialist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 816
Default

Undo changes - try adding orig menu with Use Vmg option checked or VTS_01. The TW 2.02 guides mention that the forced 1 click menu readd method doesn't always work (works about 95 to 97 % of the time without tinkering)

Yes I've noticed that the TW 2.02 Ver chapter menus (readd orig) sometimes don't work (Usually TW can't figure out the actual chapter# that the button points to - so it forces play to start of movie).

In ver 2.02 if a readded menu didn't work I just Undo and try another of the start options. If It still didn't work after all 3 options -- I just used a menutemplate (they always seem to work) with start to Use Vmg.

I'm curious What DVD?, Movie only?

TW Ver 2.5 (not released yet ) contains fix to make the orig menus always work properly,video preview, adding orig menus to multi movie/episode reauthored compiliations,pgc command editor,menu button command editor.

Last edited by FallenAngel; 20 Sep 2005 at 05:49 PM
FallenAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Sep 2005, 10:44 PM   #74
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 62
Default

Well its not actually a movie it's; WWE: The Great American American Bash 2005.
This is the first time i've tried adding a menu to any reauthored dvd, so it may be user error.
I tried the 3 modes as suggested and it still didn't work.
Here is the log file if it helps.
Attached Files
File Type: zip TitleWriterLog.zip‎ (1.2 KB, 242 views)
raddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2005, 04:56 PM   #75
Digital Video Specialist
Digital Video Specialist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 816
Default

RadDad -Yes I think something in your Pre save changes selections is off.

An observation - You only need to check Create UNdo Once for a compiliation

Is your g drive the dvd in your read drive or a hard disk.

If its not a hard disk -- Study Cynthias How to use TitleWriter - in the FAQ section

otherwise

Boot TW Undo changes and screenshot the contents of the D:\GREAT_AMERICAN_BASH_TEST\VIDEO_TS directory.

same for the g:\video_ts directory.

after seeing the contents of these dir. I can guide you further.
FallenAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Titlewriter help Hawk88 DVD Authoring and Editing 13 16 Dec 2006 01:33 AM
Help: Creating Text Menus for Home DVDs Mr. Smooth DVD Authoring and Editing 5 10 May 2006 11:52 AM
Automation for Dr.DivX ArsVidere DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding 1 21 Jan 2005 08:01 AM
scene w/ English text, then scen repeated w/ French text => sound out of synch Private Joker DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding 1 28 Mar 2004 05:50 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 01:11 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com