Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Hosted Forums > Firmware HQ Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14 Oct 2009, 06:23 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Default ATAPI iHAS124 Y firmware (Lite-ON)

I am having trouble finding this. On the website I download the ihas 124 firmware BL0N, but I get the error "This utility is only for ATAPI iHAS124 A drive." Thanks in advance.
PopePeabody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2009, 06:41 AM   #2
Author of ImgBurn
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 772
Default

If it's not on there then we don't have it - and that's probably because there's none available yet.
__________________
The Official ImgBurn Website
LIGHTNING UK! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Nov 2009, 06:06 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Maybe you have the "Y" version. If that's the case then you need BL0X which is up now (I realize this is too late but I thought I'd post this in case somebody else comes across it like I did).
Prime2515102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Dec 2009, 09:02 AM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Thank you very much Prime, I am having problems with my drive and figured a firmware update might fix it, thanks for your posting about the BLOX i didnt no that. =]
Blimp821 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Dec 2009, 07:03 PM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Please help argh!

I also have the Atapi ihas124-19 Y which I purchased yesterday... and also maybe ruined yesterday....

Original firmware for me was "BL0W". I followed Prime2515102 link http://www.firmwarehq.com/Lite-On/iHAS124/files.html to upgrade to "BL0X"

For some reason my pc screen froze, I even waited 30 minutes as I know it's bad to restart during a firmware flash, obviously. Upon restart I tried to install "bl0x" again but found my atapi ihas124 y no longer works, light flashing constantly on the drive. Firmware is now "0L0Z" On the flash program (v2.2.85) I get the "It will be updated from 0L0Z to BL0X" I click update.........

Error screen comes up "Unable to flash firmware. Please contact with your vendor! "

Any idea's please folks?
King Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Dec 2009, 04:35 AM   #6
Super Moderatress
 
cynthia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 14,278
Default

Based on my experience is that when the green lamp is blinking the burner is gone.

There might be a way to save it by flashing it in DOS. Instructions for that you should be able to find in this FAQ.

http://club.myce.com/f44/f-q-liteon-...6/#ts-misflash
__________________
cynthia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Dec 2009, 08:26 PM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default

I hope that you're still around, King Al. The BLOX firmware is defective and is quite likely malware. It disabled my new drive with exactly the same symptoms that you experienced. Naturally the original firmware was not backed up by the "installer". I was not happy.

Now for the good news: You can restore your drive as I did in Windows with a GUI without dealing with DOS boot disks, etc.. Fortunately I had bought two of these drives. I extracted the original BLOW firmware from the other drive with the Binflash utility found at http://binflash.cdfreaks.com/ . Specifically, the Win32GUI v1.49b. If you download this software, it will allow you to restore the original BLOW firmware to your blinking, nonoperating drive without leaving Windows. The drive will be as new again.

You may ask, where will I get the original BLOW firmware? I am attaching it (blow.bin in a blow.rar container) to this post. Good luck and I hope you're still around to receive this message. It will fix your drive.
Attached Files
File Type: rar blow.rar‎ (708.1 KB, 3373 views)
Inertia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Dec 2009, 11:07 AM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default

cynthia,

The link that you provided is for the traditional Liteon drive with a Mediatek chipset, hence the MtkFlash utility is the means to reflash the drive. Unfortunately, it won't work with the drive in question. The Liteon iHAS 124 Y does not use a Mediatek chipset, but a NEC chipset. Its hardware is closer to a newer Sony Optiarc drive than a Liteon. This drive is mentioned nowhere on the Liteon sites, and is apparently some sort of hybrid OEM drive with a Liteon label attached. None of the Liteon specific utilities will work with it. It is very misleading to sell this drive as a Liteon.

cynthia, since King Al (with 2 posts only) may not come back to this topic or site, I wonder if you could get someone to email him to let him know that there is a tested and working solution to his problem?
Inertia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Dec 2009, 03:21 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I, only registred to say thanks, i have the same problem whith tthe ihas124 y and now is working again.

Inertia again thanks.


p.d. sorry for my english.
fidelmty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Jan 2010, 09:15 PM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Default

So, what is the difference between a 'A' drive and a 'Y' drive?

Is it the MediaTek vs NEC chipset?


I have had several iHAS324's that were A's but I have a iHAS424 that is a Y drive that seems more difficult to flash, as in the firmware is harder to find. Anyone know what the difference is?
Extide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Mar 2010, 08:13 AM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 2
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by King Al View Post
Please help argh!

I also have the Atapi ihas124-19 Y which I purchased yesterday... and also maybe ruined yesterday....

Original firmware for me was "BL0W". I followed Prime2515102 link http://www.firmwarehq.com/Lite-On/iHAS124/files.html to upgrade to "BL0X"

For some reason my pc screen froze, I even waited 30 minutes as I know it's bad to restart during a firmware flash, obviously. Upon restart I tried to install "bl0x" again but found my atapi ihas124 y no longer works, light flashing constantly on the drive. Firmware is now "0L0Z" On the flash program (v2.2.85) I get the "It will be updated from 0L0Z to BL0X" I click update.........

Error screen comes up "Unable to flash firmware. Please contact with your vendor! "

Any idea's please folks?
I had the same problem and thought I'd fried my DVD drive (ATAPI iHAS124 Y). Tech support was absolutely NO help (what a surprise). I figured out I must be using the wrong flashing tool. I then tried using the NEC flashing tool to return the burner to the previous firmware...and IT WORKED! Using the same NEC flashing tool I was able to upgrade to BLOX without a hitch. I did this in Windows (XP SP3). I don't know if this will work for you but it's worth a try.
c4evap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jun 2010, 01:40 PM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Default

I also have an iHAS124 Y drive and am currently on the BL0V driver. Is BL0W the most recent for this drive? Should I download the file in Inertia's post or is that specifically for someone who bricked their drive? I can't seem to find it anywhere else.
Belonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Nov 2010, 07:27 AM   #13
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Thanks Inertia for your incredible help with BL0W, u rock
godhateliteon) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Dec 2010, 01:32 AM   #14
Author of ImgBurn
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 772
Default

BL0X is the latest version for the 'iHAS124 Y' and it's what LiteOn's own 'SmartPack' util will offer you for your drive.

The file on Firmware HQ is *the* file that SmartPack downloads - i.e. it's direct from LiteOn's own servers.
LIGHTNING UK! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Nov 2012, 01:04 AM   #15
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Default

I just want present two ways resolve firmware update issue:
1. If you have wrong BLOZ firmware flash to BLOW as Inertia discribed, then (without restart) flash to BLOX by software.
2. You can flash from any firmfare to BLOX by Binflash and BLOX.bin file
Attached Files
File Type: rar BLOX.rar‎ (708.5 KB, 435 views)
cchrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Atapi Dvd Ls 8x16x8x16??? jblitz277 DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware 10 19 Feb 2008 03:41 PM
Lite on firmware beachbumm33 DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware 20 16 Feb 2007 07:47 AM
IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers? Figaro14 Junior Members/Newbies 8 6 Feb 2007 01:17 PM
Lite-On SOHW-1693S Firmware dckettle Junior Members/Newbies 5 13 Jul 2005 03:47 PM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:59 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com