Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Encoding and Playback

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14 Jul 2003, 02:21 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
Unhappy-2 Problem playing DVD (related to TV-out/Macrovision)

I'm trying to play a copy protected DVD using PowerDVD XP (on Win98SE) on my computer's monitor, and receive a message telling me I can't play the DVD while my TV-out port is enabled. I suspect this is caused by Macrovision.

I don't have a TV, so it seems the easiest way to fix this problem is to disable the TV-out port on the video card, which is a 32MB Hercules/Guillemot Geforce 1. Unfortunately, there are no settings related to the TV-out port in the Nvidia control panel / display settings, so I can't disable the port that way.

Does anyone know if it is possible to disable the TV-out port on an Nvidia card (via the registry?), or else how to fix this problem another way?

Thanks,

Last edited by paulcoz; 14 Jul 2003 at 02:24 PM
paulcoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Jul 2003, 04:31 PM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"or else how to fix this problem another way?"

There have been several postings over the past frew months regarding this specific matter. The solution is to download and install the older NVidia driver(s)...


"The 41.09 and future drivers have more stringent checks in the driver to comply with the latest Macrovision requirements. If the TV encoder does not support Macrovision, you will get the "Macrovision Distribution Failed" error message or a similar message depending on which DVD software player you are using. The BT868 and Conexant CX25870 TV encoders do not support Macrovision. If your graphics card is equipped with one of these TV encoders, then it will not support DVD playback with our 41.09 drivers and above."
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jul 2003, 01:29 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks setarip, the problem is fixed.

I did read thoroughly about the subject before posting, and knew some people had swapped drivers or installed various third-party programs, but thought there must be a better solution for someone who doesn't want to use TV-out at all (unaware of the macrovision checks in the driver). It's going to be a nuisance when I do actually want to use the latest detonator drivers (for a new game) and have to switch between versions all the time.

Regards,
Paulcoz.

Last edited by paulcoz; 15 Jul 2003 at 01:33 PM
paulcoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jul 2003, 02:38 PM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"Thanks setarip, the problem is fixed."

My pleasure ;>}
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Aug 2003, 10:24 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7
Default

I too got this "tv out" message and I have a 3d force graphics card. I notice on the cd that it contains an earlier version of PowerDVD. I'm wondering if I should install THAT instead of the PowerDVD xp 4.0 I have now.... bad idea??? To deal with the tv out problem should I look for an earlier driver? Are most hollywood DVDs copy protected? Do half the DVD reader owners out there have this problem?
maulydaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Aug 2003, 11:11 AM   #6
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default To maulydaft

"Are most hollywood DVDs copy protected?"

The vast majority of commercial DVDs (with the exception of "adult" DVDs) incorporate Macrovision protection, as well as other types of copy protection.


"I'm wondering if I should install THAT instead of the PowerDVD xp 4.0 I have now.... bad idea???"

Yes, that's a "bad idea" - since the problem seems to lay with driver software and not the player software...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Aug 2003, 11:22 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7
Default

Paulcoz -
have you found a way to totally disable your tv out? Cuz i'm not interested in playing out tv at all either...
maulyd
maulydaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Aug 2003, 12:23 PM   #8
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default To maulydaft

If you do a search here for related postings, you'll discover that it apparently makes no difference if "TV out" is enabled/disabled/in use.

It appears that the ONLY available option is to resort to an older driver...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:39 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com