Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > General Discussions

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22 Dec 2005, 02:56 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default black on wide screen movies

Is there any way to reduce the black lines on a wide screen movie? On some of the movie it seems like there is move black than there is movie and if i could reduce this abit that would be great.
Thanks for your help
saskerr is offline  
Old 22 Dec 2005, 04:17 AM   #2
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Derree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Regina Sask Canada
Posts: 546
Default

You can try using the 'zoom' function on your remote control..since this makes the picture bigger it will reduce the size of the bars..other then that I can't think of anything else you could do
__________________




Turn down the suck...Turn up the
good
-------------------------------------------
Derree is offline  
Old 22 Dec 2005, 04:50 AM   #3
Banned
 
ed klein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Over The Edge
Posts: 880
Default

You can use TMPGEnc Plus as the encoder output m2v video file at 4.7gb, it has the option Frame Clip to remove those north and south black borders on wide screen 16:9 disks, when you have a 4:3 full screen TV.
ed klein is offline  
Old 22 Dec 2005, 10:23 AM   #4
Legal Alien
 
SpeedDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Somewhere Outthere
Posts: 3
Default

Buy a Widescreen TV or Monitor
SpeedDemon is offline  
Old 22 Dec 2005, 11:00 AM   #5
Super Moderator
 
jmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: East, TX
Posts: 8,696
Default

Welcome to the Digital Digest Video forum saskerr!

As Derree said, the "zoom" button/feature of the DVD player (might be on the remote itself) would be your "ideal" solution. Just keep hitting the button until you find a suitable aspect ratio screen.
jmet is offline  
Old 22 Dec 2005, 11:45 AM   #6
NOT an online superstore
 
drfsupercenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,424
Default

Yes, PowerDVD can also do this on a PC. I know there is a setup on my Panasonic player, that if you insert a widescreen movie, it will automatically zoom in - check the Setup screen of your player. That would make it permanent for all widescreen movies, Zoom is temporary.
__________________
CYA Later:

d̃ŗf̉śŭp̣ễr̀šŰǹt̉ếř
Visit my website!!

Cool Characters Make your text cool
My DVD Collection
drfsupercenter is offline  
Old 24 Dec 2005, 12:36 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default

You guys are so funny...buy a wide screen...lol
I wanted to know if there was a setting, but thanks for the laugh!!!
saskerr is offline  
Old 24 Dec 2005, 12:44 AM   #8
NOT an online superstore
 
drfsupercenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,424
Default

There is a setting - read my post.
drfsupercenter is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Encoding wide screen movies jeo AVI, DivX/Xvid 3 20 Nov 2005 11:54 AM
Keep getting a black screen after 8mins with Tmpgenc girlfromthesun Conversion/Encoding 5 22 Feb 2003 11:32 PM
Problems playing Ripped DVD movies over PowerDVD Mr.HicUp Other File Formats 1 29 Nov 2002 02:28 AM
Matrox G400 DVDmax - BLACK SCREEN!!!???!!! krishen46 Other File Formats 0 31 Dec 2001 10:39 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:07 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com