Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > General Discussions

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14 Oct 2003, 05:30 AM   #1
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 65
Unhappy-2 Problems converting AVI's with TMPGEnc

Hi !

I have converted quite a few AVI's to SVCD with TMPGEnc using
the wizard. I have now come across 2 AVI's that play well in BS
player but when I try to convert them to Mpeg2 files the encoding
stops after a few seconds. The picture freezes but the sound still
flows. The AVI's I have trouble with are both 352 x 184 DIVX files
with 44,100 audio and 29,97 fps. I have run both i Virtual DubMod
and they freeze there too. I have checked for bad frames but it
tells me there are none. Is it a problem with the frame rate or can
it be something else ? I tried to cut off some of the start and end
with TMPGEnc tools but still same result.
This is what VDubMod says about the AVI's :

Frame Size : 352 x 184 29,970 fps (33367us)
Length : 164601 frames (1:31:32,19)
FourCC Code : [DX50] Divx 5,x
Decompressor : Divx Pro 5.0.2 Codec
Number of key frames 1077
Min/Avg/Max/Total key frame size : 895/15224/42104 (16013K)
Min/Avg/Max/Total delta frame size : 1/4033/81693 (644098K)
Data rate : 985 kpbs (0,58% overhead)

Sampling rate : 44100 Hz
Channels : 2 (stereo)
sample precision : N/A
Audio Tag : Tag : 0x055, ACM Decodable MPEG Layer 3
Compression : Fraunhofer IIS MPEG Layer 3 Codec
Layout : 164601 chunks (0I0,00s preload)
Legth : 65808038 samples (1:31:32:24)
Min/Avg/Max/Total frame size : 399/399/400 (64266K)
Data Rate : 96kpbs (5,66% Overhead)

I do not understand why some AVI works fine while some (especially these two) just keep freezing up on me.
Any help is deeply appriciated...
Conehead is offline  
Old 14 Oct 2003, 10:11 AM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

Do you have the actual DivX v.5.02 codec installed on your system?
setarip is offline  
Old 14 Oct 2003, 03:32 PM   #3
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 65
Default

Only if it is part of Tsunami 3.9.9. FilterPack. I've got nothing else
installed
Conehead is offline  
Old 14 Oct 2003, 03:59 PM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"Only if it is part of Tsunami 3.9.9. FilterPack."


Make a little effort on your own behalf! Open VirtualDubMOD (You indicated that you've used this) and click on the "Video" dropdown menu - select "Compression" and see if the DivX v.5.02 codec is listed or not...

If, as I suspect, you don't have that codec installed, download and install it...
setarip is offline  
Old 14 Oct 2003, 04:04 PM   #5
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Make a little effort on your own behalf!

Sure Setarip. I just didn't know how to check if I had it
I'm at work now but I will check that as soon as I get home.
I believe you when you say that you think I haven't got that
codec installed. Thanks for your help M8 and I'll post here tonite
my outcoming of this issue.

Cheers
Cone
Conehead is offline  
Old 15 Oct 2003, 03:39 AM   #6
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 65
Default

Hiya Setarip,

I'm afraid I've got that codec installed so I do call upon thee
for some guidance as in why this happens ?
I am back home now and can test everything you suggest to
me with qiuck replies...
Thank you for your help in advance

Cone
Conehead is offline  
Old 15 Oct 2003, 04:21 AM   #7
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

I'm afraid I have no further suggestions...
setarip is offline  
Old 15 Oct 2003, 04:32 AM   #8
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
I'm afraid I have no further suggestions...




Anyone that reads this that has had the same kind of problems
as I have, with AVI's freezing up when trying to convert them to
mpeg's are more than welcome to help me out on this.

Thank you ever so much in advance
Conehead is offline  
Old 27 May 2004, 03:45 PM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 30
Default

i have the same problem with one avi file and i also use xp
the rest encode perfectly no idea y this one doesn't i have checked and i have the right codecs installed for the file ((
CVANR is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:38 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com