Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > FAQ and Guides

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28 Jul 2006, 11:09 AM   #61
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

don't know why i would, reform may come one day. untill then, hell with the rest, stick with the best.
__________________
"One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
Columbo moments...
"Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
"You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
(An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)


LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 11:22 AM   #62
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy
then how would you describe showtime?
remember this is a family forum?
let's not go there . tbh i find it similar to wmp except MS is very good with GUIs. last i checked showtime was an eyesore

chewy was that wmv HD the first HD you've seen on a PC?
__________________
"What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington


Last edited by anonymez; 28 Jul 2006 at 11:25 AM
anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 12:41 PM   #63
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: California
Posts: 348
Default

Dunno, I like Windows Media Player (10). It does everything I need it to do. I shelled out the $20 for PureVideo (didn't need the one with the audio decoders since I have my Logitech Z-5500 which uses its own decoders anyway) and like it. I also have PowerDVD 7 and in hardware rendering, it also uses PureVideo (if you got it). I guess it's just a personal preference thing.
__________________
I7 920 @ 3.5 gig (ThermalRight U120E 1366 RT Heatsink), Asus P6T, 3x1024 Corsair DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 280, NEC 90GX2, X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, Lite-on IHAS4228 SATA DVD R/W, Pioneer DVR-216D SATA DVD R/W, LG GH22NS30 SATA DVD R/W, 2 WD 640 gig (32 meg cache) SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig SATA External HDD (eSata), Winfast USB2 TV Tuner, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows XP Pro
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2006, 12:58 PM   #64
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,529
Default

Quote:
PowerDVD 7 and in hardware rendering, it also uses PureVideo (if you got it)
do you see the little nvidia icon in the system tray when you play using powerdvd? last i checked powerdvd uses exclusively it's own filters for mpeg1/2, (and more recently avc as well) and directshow for mpeg4/avi
anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2006, 01:08 AM   #65
Super Member
Super Member
 
idontno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Spring Hill, Florida
Posts: 254
Lightbulb

Screenhunter is really nice cause you can select Full Screen, Active Window or Rectangle Area. Then you can upload them to a imaging hosting service, like ImageShack, copy and past the appropriate code into your reply box and walla...


__________________



Last edited by idontno; 29 Jul 2006 at 01:16 AM
idontno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2006, 01:58 AM   #66
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 84
Default Trial Run on screen print

How to Use the "Print Screen" Button & Post it in a Thread-nero-info-tool.jpg
illpirate1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2006, 04:00 AM   #67
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: California
Posts: 348
Default

Here is a screenshot of PowerDVD 7 showing the Purevideo. Dunno if the word "PureVideo" appears in PowerDVD 7 if you don't have PureVideo.


Last edited by Mike89; 29 Jul 2006 at 08:24 AM
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2006, 09:00 AM   #68
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,529
Default

thanks mike, didn't know they had some partnership going
anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Aug 2006, 02:06 PM   #69
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: California
Posts: 348
Default

Additional info on the PureVideo thing:
I emailed Cyberlink about PureVideo and they responded that PureVideo is included in PowerDVD 7 so it does not need to be purchased in addition to (but only works in PowerDVD 7). You do need to purchase it separately for Windows Media Player 10 to use it. Also, the PureVideo icon does not appear in the System Tray when playing PowerDVD 7.
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Aug 2006, 06:48 PM   #70
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
atifsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Region Free Zone
Posts: 1,534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike89
Here is a screenshot of PowerDVD 7 showing the Purevideo. Dunno if the word "PureVideo" appears in PowerDVD 7 if you don't have PureVideo.
no it does'nt....

__________________
Seems like as soon you buy somehing, v. 2 comes out 1.5 times as fast!..!
atifsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Aug 2006, 05:45 AM   #71
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: California
Posts: 348
Default

Hmm. The Cyberlink response to me was that "Nvidia PureVideo" would appear at the end of "Hardware Acceleration" if the Video Card was capable of running PureVideo.

Here is the exact quote from them.
Quote:
VCNitin Reply 2006/08/02 03:43
Dear Mike,

Thank you for contacting Cyberlink Online Support.

We understand your concern related with PowerDVD 7.

There will be no PureVideo icon in the System Tray while watching a video in PowerDVD. You have to just click on Enable Hardware Acceleration (Nvidia PureVideo) in video tab. PowerDVD 7 automatically uses it.

Also note that PowerDVD 7 includes PureVideo but it only enables / show under video tab when your hardware (graphic card) supports it.

What video card do you have?

Last edited by Mike89; 6 Aug 2006 at 05:50 AM
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Aug 2006, 04:20 AM   #72
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
atifsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Region Free Zone
Posts: 1,534
Default

ATi Radeon 9200 on this , but same goes for 9500 on other system. no nvidia cards now to check. only nvidia i had died and put to rest in wastebin
atifsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 09:06 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com