Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > FAQ and Guides

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27 Dec 2004, 04:36 PM   #1
Super Moderator
 
jmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: East, TX
Posts: 8,696
Post How to Use the "Print Screen" Button & Post it in a Thread

Here's How:
1. Press the Print Screen key on your keyboard.

2. Open an image editing program, such as Microsoft Paint.

3. Go to the Edit menu and choose Paste.

4. If prompted to enlarge the image, choose Yes.

5. Optional: Use your image editor's crop tool to crop out unnecessary portions of the screen shot.

6. Go to the File Menu and choose Save As.

7. Navigate to the folder where you want to save the image.

8. Type a file name for the image.

9. Select a file type.

10. Click the Save button.

Tips:
Hold the Alt key down while pressing Print Screen to capture only the active window.

Save it as a .png file if you can.







How to post a screen shot with a post

1. Click reply to the thread.

2. Type your response if any. Below this box on the left hand side. You will see "Attach file:". To the right of that you will see a blank box with a "Browse..." button next to it. Click that button and then navigate to where ever you saved your screen shot or other type of picture.

3. Click "Submit New Thread" button.

4. Done

Last edited by jmet; 12 Jun 2005 at 12:05 AM
jmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Dec 2004, 10:37 AM   #2
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

ty jmet, almost there, but when i try to post the image it says it is too big. how can i get around this?

ty
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Dec 2004, 10:58 AM   #3
Retired
 
Mig$y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,966
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by columbo999
how can i get around this?
Upload and hotlink it via imageshack (http://www.imageshack.us/)
using the [IMG] (Insert Image Icon) like so:


or reduce your image size/quality and attach the file like so:
Attached Thumbnails
How to Use the "Print Screen" Button & Post it in a Thread-liz-hurley.jpg  
Mig$y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Dec 2004, 11:15 AM   #4
Super Moderator
 
jmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: East, TX
Posts: 8,696
Default

[b]
Quote:
Originally posted by Mig$y
Upload and hotlink it via imageshack (http://www.imageshack.us/)
Thank You Mig$y! I've been looking for a site like this for awhile now, I usually just ask a friend if I can upload a file to his web server. Unfortunately Geocities will not allow you to link to their sites. All you get if you do is the infamous red X. I will edit my original post and add imageshacks url to it if it is ok with you.

Last edited by jmet; 6 Nov 2005 at 07:26 AM
jmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Dec 2004, 11:18 AM   #5
Retired
 
Mig$y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,966
Default

Cool with me buddy
Mig$y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Dec 2004, 11:24 AM   #6
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

ok i seen your posts but am still lost sorry, but can you simplify it a bit more....sorry for being a pain
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Jan 2005, 06:14 PM   #7
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 580
Exclamation a better way

Quote:
Originally posted by jmet

5. Optional: Use your image editor's crop tool to crop out unnecessary portions of the screen shot.
Instead of wasting time on cropping or wasting space and bandwidth on the forums by pasting images with unnecessary information simply press ALT+PRINTSCREEN in step 1. instead which will only do a shot of the current active window, say DVD Shrink.

As well, you might wanna use some decent software to paste this images into like Irfanview. Save straight to png or gif, i.e. do NOT save to bmp first and later convert. Also jpg is for photos only as illustrated in the FAQ.
Chetwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Jan 2005, 06:20 PM   #8
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
TRI0N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Central Coast California
Posts: 442
Default

@Mig$y

Using such images just makes it even harder for someone to follow the instructions on how to do things.. I mean damn... hehe
__________________
Cheers!

TRI0N
TRI0N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2005, 02:47 AM   #9
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default To Mig$y

Hence the expression, "A sticky wicket, eh wot?"...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2005, 02:54 AM   #10
Retired
 
Mig$y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,966
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by setarip
Hence the expression, "A sticky wicket, eh wot?"...
Young man! Where's that bar of soap.....

It is related to digital video though, she's skipping chapters via her remote
__________________


Mig$y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2005, 03:07 AM   #11
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"Young man!"

I haven't been referred to as "Young man" in decades ;>}
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2005, 04:42 AM   #12
Super Moderator
 
jmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: East, TX
Posts: 8,696
Default

Quote:
I haven't been referred to as "Young man" in decades ;>}
That would be better than the alternative.
jmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jul 2005, 09:31 AM   #13
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Just a tip I have to add:

Before pasting in an image editing program such as Microsoft Paint, make sure the white area where you will paste the image is smaller than the image. If the space is larger, you will have to manually make the space between the canvas size and the image size match. Making the space smaller before pasting will give you a neat and clean picture, with no white space or no cut-off image: just perfect.

Does this make sense to everyone?
KBilbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jul 2005, 09:58 AM   #14
Kamen Moderator V3
 
2COOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,059
Default

Just wanted to say that there is a way more advanced screen capture tool available and it's completely free!

ScreenHunter

You not only have the power to capture active window and fullscreen but you can also capture a selective part of your fullscreen. Beats having to edit/cut/crop in a image editor afterwards. There's also a timed capture. Just read the features.
__________________
2CL C Henshin!
If you got a dollar for everytime someone called you ugly, you'd be a millionaire...an "ugly" millionaire.


Last edited by 2COOL; 23 Jul 2005 at 10:27 AM
2COOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jul 2005, 10:15 AM   #15
An Eagles Fan, A MenuShrinker
 
jm1647's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,661
Default

2COOL - Thanks for the tip/link...Nice Program
jm1647 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:39 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com