Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Junior Members/Newbies

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 6 Jan 2008, 07:32 AM   #1

Default Help Needed Adding Menu

Total newbie here so please be gentle!

I have just bought my first DVD recorder to backup programmes from my PVR (Sky+). What I hope to do is to set the PVR to playback the programmes one after the other and record them onto DVD. Then I want to manipulate them (cut out ads / padding) and create a menu on my PC.

As an indication of where I'm currently at experience-wise, I have copied one programme from my PVR onto DVD and then used DVDShrink to "split" it into 3 chapters (although it turned out to be 4 for some reason) and ImgBurn to burn the split version back to DVD - all (apart from the rogue extra chapter) was 100% successful.

I'm looking for advice as to the best (and cheapest) way of doing this kind of manipulation (although I have to say that DVDShrink and ImgBurn seem pretty good to my inexperienced eye) AND of adding menus. As I said at the start, I am a TOTAL NEWBIE to the world of DVD recording so any help whatever would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Old 6 Jan 2008, 09:49 AM   #2
Not a god of digital video

Although we can't speak about DVD Shrink any more (see rule 19), there are several packages out there that can make menus for you. Perhaps the simplest (and totally free) is Titlewriter. See our Authoring & Editing forum.

If you want to go commercial, try Ner0 Vision Express or TMPGEnc DVD Author.

Regards

Essential progs - [PgcEdit] [VobBlanker] [MenuShrink] [IfoEdit] [Muxman] [DVD Remake Pro] [DVD Rebuilder] [BeSweet] [Media Player Classic] [DVDSubEdit] [ImgBurn]

Media and Burning - [Golden Rules of Burning] [Media quality] [Fix your DMA] [Update your Firmware] [What's my Media ID Code?] [How to test your disc]