Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27 Jul 2005, 01:45 PM   #1
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Derree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Regina Sask Canada
Posts: 546
Talking I don't know how to use Nero....I am a moron....


I feel kinda dumb and I bet one of you will have an easy answer to me...I am trying to back up a movie so that I have a copy for the kids to wreck and one for the wife and I. I don't want to have to go to the trouble of using shrink both times with the (store bought I might add)copy. I thought I could just use nero to copy the disc? am I wrong? Please help!!!

Last edited by cynthia; 27 Jul 2005 at 02:06 PM
Derree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2005, 01:46 PM   #2
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Derree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Regina Sask Canada
Posts: 546
Default

sigh and I guess i dont know how to do the smily either lol....
[img]http://www.dvdshrink.info/images/sm...usa_wall.gif[img]
Derree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2005, 01:46 PM   #3
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Derree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Regina Sask Canada
Posts: 546
Default

Damn IT!!
Derree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2005, 02:07 PM   #4
Here and There
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Rip it first to your hard drive with DVD Decrypter or DVDFab Decrypter. Then with Nero Recode you process as you wish until you get to the burn stage then just click 2 for number of copies.

You can just use Nero, but you first have to get rid of the copy protection.

Regards,
feedback10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2005, 02:13 PM   #5
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Derree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Regina Sask Canada
Posts: 546
Default

thanks Feed....I have already backed the movie up once...I was going to make a second copy for the kids...and I know its gotta be quicker to just copy the copy if you know what I mean...rather then go throught all the shrink steps? Can I do that?
Derree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2005, 02:14 PM   #6
Here and There
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 72
Default

You may want to read up on the Guides on the Nero Recode forum by cynthia.
feedback10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2005, 02:19 PM   #7
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,529
Default

this site has an excellent step-by-step guide on using dvd decrypter in conjunction with dvdshrink.... both completely free software, and much, much better than nero recode.

http://www.dvdshrink.info
__________________
"What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington

anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2005, 02:21 PM   #8
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Derree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Regina Sask Canada
Posts: 546
Default

Ok thanks guys...Like I had I have backed the movie already using shrink and know how to use both of those programs you meantions anonymez quite well...I just didn't think that since with my backed up copy since it is decrypted and shrank already well I just thought I could burn it faster with nero and avoid having shrink shrink it again....
Derree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2005, 02:25 PM   #9
Here and There
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Well Nero Recode transcodes faster than Shrink.

Just think of Recode as the next generation of Shrink, since Mr. DVDShrink works for Nero/Ahead.
feedback10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2005, 02:28 PM   #10
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Derree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Regina Sask Canada
Posts: 546
Default

allrighty then feedback thanks for your help..I am going to go read the guides....which I should have done in the first place ....
Derree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2005, 02:30 PM   #11
Here and There
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Like I said if in the future you know you are going to need a copy of your original disk for the kids and for yourself, then rip to the harddrive first.
After that if you wish use Recode and set it at 2. That way it only has to transcode one time and will save you time in the long run.
feedback10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2005, 03:23 PM   #12
Here and There
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Lastly, there is this link Here that may give you some relative information.

Regards,
feedback10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2005, 04:49 PM   #13
Super Moderator
 
jmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: East, TX
Posts: 8,697
Default

Along with the link feedback posted, this one is a alternative method: http://forum.digital-digest.com/show...threadid=48358
jmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jul 2005, 02:16 AM   #14
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Derree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Regina Sask Canada
Posts: 546
Default

Great thanks for the help..those two links were what I was looking for...and now I know how do to this...I love this forum !!!!!
Derree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 01:11 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com