Digital Video Forums

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Software Forums > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 9 Dec 2005, 03:41 PM   #61
Banned
 
techreactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeo
...sometimes is hard to see that they are there.
Very true, DCTfilter is basically to remove the Gibbs effect but it was discovered to give some more compression also, so some ppl use it for that.

As you said, my naked eyes cannot (even now) make out the difference in the sharpness and quality (except for the lines) of the picture, perhaps you have a keen eye for it , anyways it all about preferences....so test on a small clip and decide if you would want to use a particular filter or not
techreactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Dec 2005, 04:18 AM   #62
jeo
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
jeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
As you said, my naked eyes cannot (even now) make out the difference ..
no no tech,i never wrote or had thinked it.the screenshots that i posted are from encoded samples and not using a single .avs cript loaded in vdub. you see easily the diferences.i only get 4 frames from each result.if i good remember,sometimes you see fast thin blank lines in the movie(like flash) and dct filter really give more compression but "dry" the colors.
compare here again:

no filters:

DCTFilter(1,1,1,1,1,1,0.5,0) (only)

FFT3DFilter(bt=-1, sharpen=0.4) (only)


*Asharp(1.1,2.5) give seamless result as FFT3DFilter(bt=-1, sharpen=0.4) but this last filter is better,show amazing 2d effects but(another but)is slow,veeery slow.Asharp,in the other side is faster.
compare speeds in my duron1.8 512Mbram:
FFT3DFilter CCE Max Speed: 0.240
Asharp CCE Max Speed: 1.020

the idea of this thread(i think) is to use cool filters for cool results.
RB care of the target size,then,we don't need to bore with filters to give compression.

regards dear friend. (i know you a long time)
__________________
still sending greens(you can't see but can feel)

geriatric rock fan
jeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Dec 2005, 05:01 AM   #63
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Ginji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

This is my first post.. hello all.

Thanks UncasMS for a great post. I ran an older title thru DVDRB last night with UnDot and Deen, and I believe the end result looks better than the original even after 65% compression. I'm wondering, for future reference, if you think fluxsmooth would have been useful in this situation?

Last edited by Ginji; 12 Nov 2007 at 05:09 AM
Ginji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Dec 2005, 05:14 AM   #64
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,049
Default

hi ginji,

as i'm not too qualified to speak for anime, i found this interesting page on filters used for anime:

http://www.animemusicvideos.org/guid...spostqual.html

hope it covers your questions
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Dec 2005, 06:33 AM   #65
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Ginji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the link, looks like a lot of great info.
Ginji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2005, 05:31 AM   #66
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default

I'd like to try:

Deen()
UnDot()
ASharp(1.1, 2.5)

My question is: Since they all require YV12 colorspace, how can the filters work in DVD-RB when the YV12 colorspace conversion happens _after_ the filters run?
DVDRipper100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2005, 07:32 AM   #67
jeo
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
jeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 745
Default

welcome DVDRipper100

(maybe)because you're using avisynth 2.5 or new version and have divx or xvid installed in your system.
you can edit your script like this(from RB usinc CCE as encoder):
#------------------
# AVS File Created by DVD Rebuilder
# VOBID:01, CELLID:01
#------------------
LoadPlugin("C:\Arquivos de programas\DVD-RB\DGDecode.dll")
mpeg2source("D:\???\D2VAVS\V01.D2V")
trim(0,489)
Deen()
UnDot()
Asharp(1,2)
#ConvertToYUY2(interlaced=true)
#AudioDub(BlankClip())
opening in vdub you will read:
ATI YVU12 4:2:0 PLANAR
decompressor: XviD mpeg4 codec
...now,removing the "#" in the script,load again in vdub:
FourCC: (YUY2) YUV 4:2:2
decompressor: YUV 4:2:2 (YUY2)
see here: http://www.avisynth.org/index.php?pa...rageInAviSynth
http://www.avisynth.org/ColorSpaces

my taste to use this filters to get more sharpness(first)/compression(later) result without solarizations and run faster as you posted:
undot()
Asharp(1.1, 2.5) #or FFT3DFilter(bt=-1,sharpen=0.4) looks better but is slow than asharp
deen()
# try too light cleaning --> deen("a3d",3,4,1,4) -medium cleaning --> deen("a3d",3,6,1,6) -heavy cleaning --> deen("a3d",4,9,1,9)

regards

Last edited by jeo; 17 Dec 2005 at 07:36 AM
jeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2005, 08:03 AM   #68
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks for the welcome! I'm just using DVD-RB 1.05 with AVISynth 2.56a. I'm a newbie to plugins/scripts so my question is really basic. I was just wondering how DVD-RB can run the filters when the colorspace conversion happens after the filters run? BTW: I found the cleaning suggestions for Deen to be very useful.
DVDRipper100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2005, 10:03 AM   #69
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DVDRipper100
Thanks for the welcome! I'm just using DVD-RB 1.05 with AVISynth 2.56a. I'm a newbie to plugins/scripts so my question is really basic. I was just wondering how DVD-RB can run the filters when the colorspace conversion happens after the filters run? BTW: I found the cleaning suggestions for Deen to be very useful.
A DVD's native colorspace is YV12... so no conversion has to be done before running filters that require YV12. There are filters out there that will only work on YUY2, so you can put a conversion in as a filter. The "ConvertToYV12()" or "ConvertToYUY2()" that is inserted after the filters is there just in case someone has added a color conversion as a filter... so it will convert back. CCE requires YUY2 while HC uses YV12. The conversion filter is smart enough to know that if it is already in that color space, nothing needs to be done -- so it also doesn't slow anything down.

Last edited by jdobbs; 17 Dec 2005 at 10:06 AM
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2005, 10:55 AM   #70
jeo
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
jeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 745
Default

cool explanations jdobbs!

DVDRipper100,
more informations here: YV12 FAQ
see item "11 Is YV12 & AVISynth 2.5..." just like jdobbs posted!

regards
jeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2005, 02:14 PM   #71
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks so much for the information. It cleared up a lot of the mystery!
DVDRipper100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Jan 2006, 06:40 PM   #72
BR7
He is coming to your little town!
 
BR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sioux City,IA
Posts: 2,137
Default

Quote:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth2.5\plugins\FluxSmooth25.dll")
For some reason I get get this to work it has been a bit since I used this I cant remember it. I searched and as far as I can tell I have it right
----------------------
EDIT
never mind it might help if I would have put these little guys " " in dont know why I put them in here and not on DVDRB my guess is that lots of sleep is needed
__________________

My Blu-ray Collection

Last edited by BR7; 22 Jan 2006 at 07:10 PM
BR7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jan 2006, 10:52 PM   #73
Banned
 
techreactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,309
Default

I just tried out this script with excellent results and decent speeds :

Removegrain(mode=2)
STMedianfilter(3,3,1,1)
asharp(1.1,2.5)


Use the removegrain version as per your CPU, I used SSE2.
techreactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jan 2006, 03:57 AM   #74
BR7
He is coming to your little town!
 
BR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sioux City,IA
Posts: 2,137
Default

What am I doing wrong I can't get avisynth to work everytime HC starts I get an error.Here is what I put
Loadplugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\FluxSmooth25.dll")
Loadplugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\UnDot.dll")
FluxSmooth(5,7)
UnDot()
I have to head off to work so if someone helps I will read it later tonight.Its odd I never had this problem befor
Thanks
BR7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jan 2006, 04:15 AM   #75
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,049
Default

what error exactly did you get?

the script looks fine to me
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:55 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com