Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • HDRed
    • Dec 2002

We Need a Better Guide.

I'm not going to pretend here - I started encoding to DivX about 2 weeks ago. I can't say that I'm an expert by any means, as some of you have been doing this for years. However, I've had winter holiday off from school, and pretty much all I've done is learn this hobby.

When I first started out, I couldn't even decide where to start. I thought, "Ok, I have this DVD I'd like to shrink and put on my computer so that I can keep it on my hard drive at all times without taking up 7GB of space. I'd also like this DVD to fit onto a single cd, in case I need to archive it for a reformat or something." To do this, I hit google - type in "DivX encoding" and went from there.

What I found was a huge, HUGE amount of information on this subject. One would think that with such an enormous library of tutorials and guides, getting started would be easy as pie. I found this to not be the case. Differing opinions, different languages and different software caused lots of confusion in my mind.

Let's face it - many sites are outdated, incoherent, unattractive and misleading. I don't mean intentionally misleading, but they assume way too much - they assume that one knows already certain aspects of encoding to DivX that I, personally, did not know!

I've also found an utter lack of a standard of quality and dimensions in output of video. There needs to be a benchmark standard of image quality and output resolution so that newbies like myself can go by.

I propose that the experts here, if they be able, disregard the fact that some of you do have your own sites explaining how to do things. I have seen the personal site of nearly everyone on this forum that offers one, and you are not exempt from the problems mentioned above.