Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Shamis
    • Jun 2006

DVD Rom Tray Won't Stay Closed... Help

Ok so I burn for a living. Yesterday morning I noticed that my dvd-rom tray which is on my :d drive was open. I closed it, the green light flickers and it opens. So I closed it again, same thing, it closes for two seconds and opens again. Over and Over and Over. It won't stay shut

Now several months ago I remeber I had the same problem, I figured my kids did something and I wasn't using it so I said no big deal, but without me remeber the events around it, I closed it one day and it stay closed. Now here's the catch. When I had this problem a few months ago it was my cd rom then because it was installed on the :d drive.

When my IT guy came out a few weeks ago, he switched the dvd rom to :d drive and installed the dvd burner in :e drive. So I am wondering why I am having this problem with the :d drive.

I tried troubleshooting with windows but to no avail. Does anyone have any suggestions. Its kind of urgent.
  • Chewy
    Super Moderator
    • Nov 2003

boot into safe mode, see the sticky at top of page in this subforum, does it do it in safe mode?

have you tried a system restore?

Comment

• Shamis
      • Jun 2006

Thanks Chewy but neither worked.

I booted in safe mode and it closed by itself, but opened again. Then when it asked me to run in safe mode or to do a system restore, I chose system restore.

I click july 3rd (system checkpoint) because I didn't have this problem then and it only allowed me to go back that far. It closed on its own, but opened again.

Then when windows started up I got an error message:
      Hardware failure: replace failed component

Then it went on to say that the error was caused by an unrecoverable hardware error which forced the operating system to stop functioning.