X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jmet
    Super Moderator
    • Nov 2002

Using Old Befw11s4 Version 4 Router As A Wap

I have been using the BEFW11S4 router for a couple of years now. It has worked flawlessly! I wanted some more control over my router configurations and settings so I bought a WRT54GL router. The reason being so that I could load third party firmware. (Yes I know that voids my warranty).

Right now I have 2 PC's connected in my house (my desktop and laptop). My mother lives about 300 feet behind me, at first I ran CAT5 cable through the trees to her computer. That worked great until lightning struck the line and fried her PC. So I then went wireless with her. She gets a signal barely! Most of the time its 1 bar.

Now my brother lives to the left of me. He is closer but the line of sight its not good for him (alot of trees). He also gets 1 bar some of the time. It fluctuates for both users.

Now my question is can I use my old BEFW11S4 router as a wireless access point?

I was told that I could connect the two routers via CAT5 and disable DHCP on the BEFW11S4 router and it would broadcast the wireless signal.

FYI: I also have some high gain antennas.
  • Chewy
    Super Moderator
    • Nov 2003

Now my question is can I use my old BEFW11S4 router as a wireless access point?
    BEFW11S4-CA(FR) - Wireless Access Point Router with 4-Port Switch

run cat 5 cable out to it and hang on corner of house under eave and try to get line of sight and use the tin cans pointd at it?

don't think it will work as a range extender if you are trying to get it to receive tho

Comment

• jmet
      Super Moderator
      • Nov 2002

Its like the version before that one you listed Chewy. Its not "technically" a access point but I've been told you can use it as one.

Comment

• Chewy
        Super Moderator
        • Nov 2003

if it had cat 5 going upstream to the wan(cable or dsl modem?)

BEFW11S4 - Wireless-B Broadband Router