• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • benshei
    • Oct 2009

HV Video what computer to buy?

Hello,
    I am new to the HD video…

Got the Canon HF20 camcodrer, I have an old computer with Windows XP.
    I was able to download the videos from the camcoder to the PC but it does not play well.

I assume I will need to buy a new computer now, that needs to be strong computer. I am debating between PC or Apple iMac.

Need you advice in what direction to go…
    I like the video quality when I play them from the camcoder through HDMI cable to HD TV.

Also I would like to be able to take some of the videos and upload them to YouTube, is this possible?

Any help will be well appreciated.

Thanks, Eitan
  • UncasMS
    Super Moderator
    • Nov 2001

hello eitan,

a new computer may very often be a good idea/wise decision when it comes to faster editing/processing but in your case you mention QUALITY

so let me ask you: what is it precisely that is not satisfying with your current pc?

of course you may ask 10 people and get at least 20 suggestions/opinions but a decent proposal should be based on better input from you.

outputting hd video to your hd tv may look different as material on the pc simply because the reoslution of your monitor may be (i have no idea as we still need your information updated) way smaller in terms of its resolution and thus hd video will look different/poorer when output res is probably smaller than input resolution.

the very moment when you go about editing hd material you will very likely appreciate the performance a NEW pc (a quadcore with ideally more than 4gb ram, a 64 bit os and more than one harddrive) but let's get more details from you first.
    Last edited by UncasMS; 27 Oct 2009, 10:07 PM.

Comment

• benshei
      • Oct 2009

Hello,
      My PC is ~ 5 years old with Windows XP, 160GB HD and 1 GB RAM.