X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • seth fang
    • Sep 2011

Need a video converter

Hi guys,
    im a newbie here, i really wanna know the basic discipline here. And i really wanna be part of some great talks, especially things about movies. BTW, who knows a good video converter? Thx~
  • admin
    Administrator
    • Nov 2001

• SUPER to convert between almost any file format
    • AutoGK for conversion to AVI/DivX/Xvid
    • AVI Recomp for re-encoding AVI files for more compatibility
    • VidCoder for Blu-ray/DVD to MP4/MKV (H.264) conversion
    • DVD Flick for video file to DVD conversion, you might also try FAVC if DVD Flick doesn't work well for you
    • and MeGUI for more advanced users that want more control over their conversion.

All freeware as well, so no need to mess around, except that the commercial ConvertXtoDVD is a pretty good video file to DVD converter, if you need to do a lot of those (and don't want to deal with the various issues with DVD Flick, FAVC).
    Visit Digital Digest and dvdloc8.com, My Blog

Comment

• MilesAhead
      Eclectician
      • Nov 2006

Also check out the tool many video converters use:

AviSynth

It takes a bit to wrap your head around it. You don't "start" or "run" it like a normal app. Programs or you manually, create a script. The AviSynth dll and 3rd party plugins provide the code, to do things like filter the video, add subtitles, resize, remove jaggies etc...

It's very powerful.

Comment

• BlogYourEarth
        • Oct 2011

Hi seth fang,
        I tested today the Avanti encoder. Avanti is the front-end and the encoder is FFmpeg. It is very powerful video converter and free from malware.

During my search for a video converter I installed a bunch of video to video converters yesterday / today and now my computer is packed with malware

I will write a short description about how to get Avanti installed and run.

I hope this will help you...

Comment

• Art Vandelay
          Digital Video Technician