X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Pez
    • Jan 2002

Video File Editing

Hi all.

I'm a noob to video editing, so please be gentle.....

I've got a TV tuner card in my computer, a sort of high-end model made by Hauppauge called the Colossus. When I use it to record a TV show, it automatically records it in HD, 1080p, so, the files can be quite large.

On a recent Saturday Night Live show, I recorded when the musical guest was on. The clip is about 5 minutes long and over 400 MB's in size. When I recorded it I didn't quite catch it in time to stop recording at the end of the musical performance, so, it goes on into the commercial break.

I simply want to trim a few seconds off the end of the clip.

This Hauppauge Colossus card came bundled with software known as ArcSoft ShowBiz. It supposedly can edit video.

But when I use it to edit or "trim" the video.....and then I want to "save" my work, it doesn't save it as the original video file (the file is an MPEG-2 TS video file). I did a screen capture of what it wants to save it as:

Do you see where it says "Save as type"? There is no other choice besides what you see in that drop-down menu: "ArcSoft ShowBiz Project File (*.tms). I'd like to save it as the MPEG file, not this ".tms" thing.

You know how if you scan a picture, you have choices like .jpg, .tif, or .bmp? I wish I could do that with this video file. But if I save it, the file can only be opened up in this ArcSoft ShowBiz program, not in, say, Windows Media Player or VLC Media Player.

Any help here? Am I missing something simple right in front of my eyes?

Or, if you're not familiar with this particular piece of software (ArcSoft ShowBiz), then could you perhaps recommend a piece of video editing software that could handle MPEG-2 TS files?

Thanks!
    Pez
  • r0lZ
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    • Mar 2004