X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • 2smooth4u
    • May 2003

Video-to-DVD converter

Hi all,

I'm new to all this, so please bear with me. I found a product on QVC that says it allows you to copy VHS home movies from your camcorder to DVD's, provided you have a DVD burner (which I do). What I'd like to know is whether or not I could put a copyrighted VHS movie into my camcorder and copy it to DVD. And if so, can I get a full length movie on one disc, and will it look any better or worse? If anyone has used anything like this, please let me know if it was worthwhile! Thanks.
  • SKD_Tech
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    • Jan 2003

If at all possible I would get away from spending money and capture it from TV with a lossless codec then convert it to a DVD format file and burn it that way.

Comment

• rsquirell
      Digital Video Master
      Digital Video Master
      • Feb 2003

"Copywrited VHS Tape"...gee, you wouldn't be a troll for the movie industry, would you. We're into backing up our purchased VHS movies and VCR tapes around here.

Comment

• setarip
        Retired
        • Dec 2001

"whether or not I could put a copyrighted VHS movie into my camcorder and copy it to DVD"

You'll discover that most commercial VHS tapes include Macrovision protection. Copying such tapes directly will result in a copy that, when viewed, will make your eyes ache as the brightness constantly increase and decreases (Or, you'll see a thick white band across the middle of the image)...

Comment

• rsquirell
          Digital Video Master
          Digital Video Master
          • Feb 2003

Could macrovision be defeated by making a VHS copy of a Blockbuster video and then taking that copy into the PC (for academic discussion, of course.) Seems I know a friend who's been doing that for years. When did they start with the Macrovision?

Comment

• setarip
            Retired
            • Dec 2001

To rsquirell

Shame on you! How totally hypocritical!