Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DallasHeel
    • May 2003

Newby question about burning DVDs

I need help! I just bought a new Sony Vaio laptop that comes with a DVD +/- R/RW drive. I have never done any DVD burning before so I have been trying to do some research on the web to see if I can figure out what the heck I'm doing.

I guess my question is this, do these systems normally come with the software that is required. I have seen so much downloadable software out there that I am beginning to wonder if I have everything. My laptop did come with software loaded for DVDs but with all the information out there I have gotten a little confused on what all I need. I want to be able to make back-ups of DVDs, burn new DVDs from my backups, create DVDs from digital camera footage, etc. Any direction or guidance would be much appreciated.

Thanks!!
  • DallasHeel
    • May 2003

Sorry, all. Should have posted this in the beginner's forum. Didn't see it right away....

Comment

• setarip
      Retired
      • Dec 2001

What software came with the DVD burner installed in your laptop?

Comment

• DallasHeel
        • May 2003

I have WinDVD4 for playing, Sony's MovieShaker, DVGate, Adobe Premier 6 LE and Screenblast. I went through those and didn't see anything that looked to me like an application for ripping DVDs. I don't know what the current laws are on that. I would imagine it is still legal to copy DVDs for personal use. Isn't it just the distribution of copyrighted material that is illegal?
        Last edited by DallasHeel; 2 Jun 2003, 04:33 AM.

Comment

• setarip
          Retired
          • Dec 2001

According to Sony:

"Sony also includes Windows XP Home edition, Word 2002 and a bunch of very cool digital and video authoring programs. You can customize your VAIO for various hard disk sizes and CD/DVD burner speeds.