X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mythologyrocks
    • Oct 2003

Converting XVID codec movie to DIVX

Hi,

I am a newbie...Can some 1 tell me how to convert a movie that was encoded using XVID codec to DIVX?

Thankz in advance for ur help....

Regards,
    Mythologyrocks!!!
  • vic_vega
    Platinum Member
    Platinum Member
    • May 2003

Virtual Dub (amazing freeware) Check it out at <a href="http://www.virtualdub.org/">http://www.virtualdub.org/</a>

Oh, Oh, Oh, what would I do without you Virtual Dub?

Comment

• setarip
      Retired
      • Dec 2001

To mythologyrocks

May I ask WHY you want to do this?

Comment

• vic_vega
        Platinum Member
        Platinum Member
        • May 2003

What do you use for compression Seta?

Do you like Xvid better?

The tests I have done personally, to see the size differences (using the same vob file, then encoding it to DivX, and XviD (with the same audio of course) to compare the quality, and size, although the XviD was mostly better quality, it was a WAY bigger file size then the DivX.

And when I changed the quality of the XviD just a little bit (to see if that would be as good as quality of DivX, it was terrible quality!) People keep saying how XviD is better, well, the day I can convert a .VOB to XviD (at the same quality, with just as good a file size) then I will agree that it is better....

But until then....

Comment

• Enchanter
          Old member
          • Feb 2002

"it was a WAY bigger file size then the DivX"

How did you come to this conclusion? XviD allows you to set the filesize manually (in the second pass) and if you are complaining of oversized files, then you have done something wrong in your filesize calculation.

"And when I changed the quality of the XviD just a little bit (to see if that would be as good as quality of DivX, it was terrible quality!)"