Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Steven123
    • May 2005

Help with AVI to DVD

hello, I am new at making movies, I dl lots AVI movies and want to put them on DVD, I have a new DVD and I tried it and the picture was very choppy and sound was very bad.. I have a phillips DVD and running Sonic record now.. can someone please help me? what is the best way to convert if I have to and make a DVD movie that is somewhat ok to watch.. Thanks so much
  • setarip
    Retired
    • Dec 2001

If you are trying to CONVERT the .AVIs to DVD format, one set of procedures (other posters may/probably will suggest alternative methods) would be:

1) Use "TMPGEnc" (or "TMPGEncPlus") to convert the .AVI (DivX-compressed or otherwise) to compliant MPEG2-for-DVD format - Use "TMPGEnc's" DVD wizard/template to accomplish this

2) Use "TMPGEnc DVD Author" (a different program than "TMPGEnc") to easily create the required additional DVD files and structure (and chapters and a menu, if you wish)

**If the combined filesize of the DVD "package" written to your hard drive is greater than 4.37Gb, use DVD Shrink (or similar) to compress

If your O/S is either Win2000 or WinXP, TMPGEnc DVD Author can also burn your DVD. Otherwise, use NERO to burn in "DVD-Video" mode
    (As an alternative to "TMPGEnc DVD Author", you could use "DVDLab")

Let us know of your success ;>}

Comment

• Steven123
      • May 2005

I have tried veverything!! am getting very frustrated also, lol
      I have tried shrink, but it wont reconize my files, I have tried all different programs, it is very stressed for me now, lol please help!!

Comment

• jmet
        Super Moderator
        • Nov 2002

Have you converted the .avi files to .mpeg files using the procedure above suggested by setarip?

Comment

• kimomakano
          Platinum Member
          Platinum Member
          • Jun 2002

I dl lots AVI movies