Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Tim_Myth
    • Apr 2002

Converting MP2 to DivX

Let me first explain that I am a complete novice. I have vast hardware knowledge, but not a clue about applying the power at my finger tips.

Here's what I've got:
    Athlon 800 (Hopefully a 1.4 soon), ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon, an SB Live Platinum, two 7200rpm 60gig HDs, and a Hollywood DVD Decoder card. I am running Win 2k for my OS. I have DirectTV piped directly into the PC, and I have managed to record movies to my hard drive. The output is formated in MP2 (which I assume is MPEG 2 since it won't play without the RealMagic card in). I get great quality, and except for minor sound muffling the recording is virtually indistinguishable from the original. These files have been upwards of 7 or 8 gigs.

What I want:
    I want to compress these files to fit on a CD.

What I have tried:
    FlaskMPEG, MPEG2AVI, and TMPGEnc don't seem to want to open the MP2 files I have created. This likely an ID10T error.

Does anyone have a nice little step by step instruction sheet detailing how to record movies with my system and compress them to fit on a CD?
  • Batman
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    • Jan 2002

Try Virtualdub for capturing. Capture in uncompressed avi then convert it to divx, again using Virtualdub. Read guides at divx-digest.com and vcdhelp.com on capturing and do a search on google.com You can create mpegs using TMPGENc.
    Last edited by Batman; 2 Apr 2002, 02:16 PM.

Comment

• jjbreen
      • May 2002

The only solution I've found that always works