Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • leighdog
    • Oct 2006

High definition or upconverted

I sure hope people arent being suckered into thinking they are buying a blu ray or hd dvd.Isnt it true that in order to be a high def dvd the original film has to be shot with high def cameras?I saw terminator on amazon being sold as a blu ray dvd but remember this film is old and i dont think it was shot with high def cameras was it?Its upconverted"""
  • mc4man
    • Jun 2006

i'm no expert but my impression is that film, as in 35,70 mm, is a higher resolution than hd

Comment

• nwg
      Left *****
      • Jun 2003

Originally Posted by mc4man
      i'm no expert but my impression is that film, as in 35,70 mm, is a higher resolution than hd
      Correct.

The source does not have to be in Hi Def to start with. Film uses a lot more resolution than Hi Def (at least 4 times more).

Also upconverted cannot match the quality of proper HD. Don't fall for these upconverting DVD players. The only player that is does a good job is the Toshiba HD-DVD player. That is because it costs $500 rather than a cheap player which would be hopeless.

Also, people with HDTV's will also upconvert normal DVD for you anyway. Generally, a TV that upscales is better than a player that upscales.

Comment

• volfann
        Digital Video Enthusiast
        Digital Video Enthusiast
        • Jun 2006

Originally Posted by leighdog
        I sure hope people arent being suckered into thinking they are buying a blu ray or hd dvd.Isnt it true that in order to be a high def dvd the original film has to be shot with high def cameras?I saw terminator on amazon being sold as a blu ray dvd but remember this film is old and i dont think it was shot with high def cameras was it?Its upconverted"""
        Maybe you were thinking of IMAX...
        sigpic

Rent This Space

Comment

• toomanycats
          Digital Video Expert
          Digital Video Expert
          • Apr 2005