Just want to make a Christmas DVD!! Help!!

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • vfd265
    • May 2008

Just want to make a Christmas DVD!! Help!!

I searched, scoured and browsed the forum for answers, only to become more confused than I was when I started. I am new to digital video, but consider myself fairly computer literate. However, all this formatting, codecs and compression talk is making my head spin. Now to the root of the problem.

I have 2 Christmas videos that I recorded on Mini-DV and would LOVE to turn them into DVD's. I transferred the video to my PC, using Windows Movie Maker. I save them as AVI, it was the best qaulity choice and I figured that was the way to go? I edited the videos, adding a few transitions and titles.

My question is how do I get these to DVD from Windows Movie Maker without losing quality? Also, would a different program be better to use? I am not making professional quality movies, just want to archive my home movies.

Any help would be appreciated, and remember I know next to nothing about digital video.

Thanks1
  • Chewy
    Super Moderator
    • Nov 2003

Talk about DVD Flick, a free software to convert your AVI/DivX/XviD files to DVD

I reccomend this free program for beginners

Play around with it to convert to dvd compliant mpeg2 files that you can later burn to dvd

you do have a dvd burner right?

Comment

• vfd265
      • May 2008

Yes I do have a DVD burner, no offense taken, It is a legit question....lol.

As a further note, the files I already stored on my computer were AVI....each one is 10-11 gigs.

Comment

• Chewy
        Super Moderator
        • Nov 2003

Well this is rocket science and no one can lead you thru it, it takes a while to get it right

I would have kept my avi file size down to about 700MB/hr of video since hard drive space can become a premium and unless you are capturing home video in high def the extra size won't help, it only helps an older computer keep up by not having to compress