X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jella
    • Apr 2003

Tight squeeze and other issues.

I'm new to this, so bear with me...

First of all, I am experiencing problems with using TMPGEnc for converting mpeg files into an svcd-compliant mpeg-2 format. The conversion process is 'successful', yet the outcome file won't play.

Second...someone on this forum once mentioned that they have successfully managed to squeeze a 90-120 minute movie on ONE svcd (700 mb cd-r) without much loss in quality. Whoever this person was, if this can really be done, PLEASE give more specific information on the settings and software used.

Also, I'd like to know if there is a way to create an svcd that will play fine on both PAL and NTSC DVD players. I am getting married in the States and would like to create an svcd of the wedding video for my family in Europe (PAL) as well as the guests and friends here (NTSC).

Any help would be highly appreciated!
  • setarip
    Retired
    • Dec 2001

"The conversion process is 'successful', yet the outcome file won't play."

Have you burned a CD-R as SVCD and tried playing it on your standalone player with output to your television (fro which SVCD is intended) - or are you just trying to play the file on your PC?

Comment

• Jella
      • Apr 2003

Originally posted by setarip
      Have you burned a CD-R as SVCD and tried playing it on your standalone player with output to your television (fro which SVCD is intended) - or are you just trying to play the file on your PC?
      Naw, what I did was convert an mpeg file with tmpgenc into mpeg-2 format for later use on an svcd. I did not burn the file onto cd, I tried playing the resulting mpeg file with a standalone player, and it didn't work. I have had this happen before, I don't know what it is I am doing wrong.

Comment

• setarip
        Retired
        • Dec 2001

"I did not burn the file onto cd, I tried playing the resulting mpeg file with a standalone player"

This makes absolutely NO sense...