X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • W00DY
    • Jul 2003

Setup Question

Hi all,

Firstly let me say I am VERY new to Digital Video... so I will have a lot of questions as time goes on

My first question is regarding a good PC setup. I currently have a PIII 650 with 384mg RAM and a Nvidia TNT2 video card.

I want to upgrade my system but would like your thoughts on what you think is a minimum setup. Especially on the video card aspect. How much does your video card play a role in digital video? or should you spend your money more on the processor and RAM?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

W00DY
  • Enchanter
    Old member
    • Feb 2002

Welcome to the forum.

Have a look at this similar thread. It should answer most of your questions.

Cheers.

Comment

• jedimaster
      • Jul 2003

Minimum setup for a video editing box:

AMD XP 2000+ ( get it Retail ...comes with 3 year warranty and heatsink and fan included ) ... dirt cheap nowadays

512 Mb PC 2700 Ram ( Samsung, Micron, Crucial brands ONLY )... $ 75

60 Gb hard drive ( 7200 rpm if possible ) UDMA 133 ( Seagate, Maxtor or Western Digital ... no Fujitsu, IBM, Quantum, etc )... $ 70

SB Audigy 2 soundcard ( not the Platinum Edition )... $ 55

ATI All in Wonder 8500 DV video card ( comes with all the necessary inputs and outputs ) ... $ 170

the biggest monitor you can get your hands on ( 21" Viewsonic retails for about $ 600, 19" for arround $ 250 )

Sony or Pioneer latest DVD burner ( both 4x for -R+R and 2x for -RW+RW ) Sony burns CD's @ 24X, the Pioneer @ 16X... $ 250 to $ 300

As motherboard, I suggest Asus A7N8X Deluxe ( nforce chipset, comes with all the trimmings ). If you get that, use 2 sticks of ram ( for double the speed ). It comes with dual NIC's, SATA connectors in RAID, firewire, and sound card built in. ... $ 125

I'd personally go with a 2500+ or better 333Mhz fsb processor and 1 Gb of RAM. 120 Gb hard drive if very usefull too.