Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • magwitch
    • Jul 2003

Improper VBR audio encoding in Virtualdub

I've just been getting the hang of splitting avi files with Virtualdub and burning them onto vcd, with good results so far. However, I've now got myself an avi file that, when loaded into Virtualdub, produces the message "Virtualdub has detected an improper VBR audio encoding in the source avi file and will rewrite the audio header with standard CBR values during processing for better compatibility. This may introduce up to 40972ms of skew from the video stream. If this is unacceptable, decompress the 'entire' audio stream to an uncompressed WAV file and recompress with a constant bitrate encoder (bitrate: 143.2+or- 26.7kbps)" I'm now totally lost! How do I decompress with audio stream and then recompress it, and what do I use to do it with? Any replies, please use basic language as I am a computer novice!
  • dodge
    Banned
    • Feb 2003

you can split your files with nanodub which supports vbr mp3 rather than re encoding the audio

Comment

• setarip
      Retired
      • Dec 2001

To magwitch

If you continue to intend to convert the .AVI to VCD and you use TMPGEnc to do so, you'll first have to convert the audiostream to a format that TMPGEnc finds acceptable.

Converting .AVIs with VBR-MP3 Audio for use with TMPGEnc

Simply use NanDub or VirtualDubMOD (Different than standard VirtualDub), to save the audio stream as an Uncompressed PCM (WAV) file as follows:
      1) Load your original .AVI into NanDub

2)Set "Video" to "Direct Stream Copy"

3) Set "Audio" to "Full Processing Mode" (NanDub only -For VirtualDubMOD>"Streams>"Stream list">>rightclick on the listed audiostream and then select "Full Processing Mode")