Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jscompton
    • Jan 2004

capturing 8mm on PC

HELP! I am new to this game. I am trying to capture 8mm tape from my camcorder to my PC using USB Instant Video CD. I can see an image on the PC from the camcorder, but it is skipping tons of frames. This package also came with ulead video studio 6. Is this the best way to go about converting? Is there a better package out there! Again, I'm new, so be gentle!
  • atifsh
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    • May 2003

can u pls specify,..

what card u have model/company?
    what /how u were capturing?
    what u want as a result? vcd/svcd / dvd / divx
    Seems like as soon you buy somehing, v. 2 comes out 1.5 times as fast!..!

Comment

• rsquirell
      Digital Video Master
      Digital Video Master
      • Feb 2003

I take it that since USB is referenced it's an external device...and since it came packaged with ULead VS6 (which doesn't have an external device of it's own) that it's an AVI capture tool of low resolution (352X240)...which means it'll capture, but the video will be blurry and no where near the quality of the original.

Comment

• jscompton
        • Jan 2004

I'm not sure what you mean by what card do I have? Is that something internal to the computer?

I plugged my camcorder via yellow and white plugs into an ADS Technologies little black triangle-shaped box. The box then plugs into a USB port in the back of my PC. I ran Video Studio 6.0 SE and could see the video from the camcorder.

What I want as output is something I can watch on my new DVD player. I'm not picky.

I am looking for the easiest, cheapest, fastest way to do this. I am not a computer techie person, but am tryng to move into the 21st century by converting my camcorder tapes.

If you know a better package/method of doing this, I'll do whatever you say. A friend of mine said I need to buy a package with IEEE 1394 plug and a DVD capture/authoring program. Any suggestions?