X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • chetnet
    • Jul 2004

Best VCR/VHS Capture ?

Hi All!

Have about 10 VHS tapes that I would like to get onto DVD. The only thing I need is the hardware, basically, to capture to the computer in avi format. Since I only have about 10 tapes, at most, I don't want to spend more than $50. What are the experiences out there for best value/quality?

I see that I can get the WinTV USB for $30 after rebates this week, but it appears it only has mono audio. That's not a big concern if it does justice on the video quality. Any experience with this?

Thanks,
    Chet

PS. I've burned a few DVD's already from my digital camcorder so I have the rest of the process fairly down. ;o)
  • YesRushGen
    • Jul 2004

I'm really new at this stuff, so I might be off here.

Anyways, in all of my recent research, I've learned that if your Digital Camcorder (Firewire?) has standard A/V inputs, then the camera itself can serve as the capture device.

Just hook up the VCR to it, hook the camera to the PC, and use it as a pass-through.

Hope that helps!

Comment

• chetnet
      • Jul 2004

Thanks, but it doesn't have A/V inputs, just the outs.

Comment

• ormonde
        Digital Video Explorer
        • Dec 2003

Then you will have to get an external capturing device that supports USB II/Firewire, but you will be hard pressed to find a good one for under $130.00.

Comment

• YesRushGen
          • Jul 2004

I myself just plopped down $270 US for an ADVC-100!

I'm happy with it so far, but I'm having major trouble selecting Capture/Editing/Authoring software. There are SO many choices.

Comment

• chetnet
            • Jul 2004

Ormonde,

Are you saying that devices under $70, like WinTV and Dazzle's, will make the lousy quality of VHS even worse? Hard to believe I can't do what I want to do for under $50. I already have all the software I need. Thanks.

Comment

• ormonde
              Digital Video Explorer
              • Dec 2003