• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jon_Are
    • Mar 2005

Older DVD player not playing backups

Hi all,

I'm new to this backing up thang.

I've backed up half a dozen DVDs with great success, except that only a couple of them work on my older player (it's a Sony that is around 5 or 6 years old).

On my other two (cheap) players, as well as my PC DVD drive, no problems at all.

I'm thinking I should pick up a fairly inexpensive unit to replace 'ol unreliable. What are my chances of a new player being able to play my back-ups, considering that my other two newer players work well?

Thanks,

Jon
  • sfheath
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    • Sep 2003

Re: Older DVD player not playing backups

Originally posted by Jon_Are
    What are my chances of a new player being able to play my back-ups, considering that my other two newer players work well?
    Quite high providing you're using good quality media - be sure to check for + or - compatibility.
    This isn't a learning curve ... this is b****y mountaineering!

Comment

• Experi-Mentor
      Digital Video Master
      Digital Video Master
      • Nov 2004

here's a link/guide for media/dvd player compatibility :

Comment

• Jon_Are
        • Mar 2005

Thanks, guys.

I think I should have been more clear...

Two DVDs I backed up play on the Sony perfectly.

The last two I burned start to play on the Sony, then get hung up and the screen flashes what looks to be an error message.

So...would an incompatible player play SOME backed up discs but not others? Seems to me, it would be an all or nothing thing.

This is what leads me to wonder if the player is either starting to malfunction or else it is too old to consistently recognized backed up media.

Thanks!

Jon

Comment

• Enchanter
          Old member
          • Feb 2002