Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JoeT020
    • Jan 2006

Question/advice needed on video editing

Hello all, I'm new to this whole thing but I'm looking to quickly get into some video editing on my computer for multiple purposes. First I will outline the things I'm looking to do in terms of video editing and then I will post the product I found that I think fulfills my needs. I'm looking to know if it is a good product for one, and for two, if it will do everything I need it to do.

The first function I am looking to do is saving programs from my TV to my computer. I have two TVs in my living room, one equipped with a Tivo and one equipped with a cable company-issued digital video recorder. Both have all of the analog video and s-video wire outputs/inputs. I'm looking to be able to transfer saved programs on my Tivo and DVR to my computer. Then, once on the computer, I would like to be able to edit the programs to remove commercials or things of the sort. I would also like to be able to convert the video files to different media types, such as Divx format. I would then like to be able to burn the files, in divx format, to a DVD, and be able to watch them on a divx supported dvd player.

The other thing I would like to be able to do is rip DVDs onto my computer using the software/hardware I would like to get, and be able to convert those files into Divx format to be backed up and viewed in the Divx supported DVD player.

The product I found that I think fulfills all these needs is this:

Shop online at Best Buy in your country and language of choice. Best Buy provides online shopping in a number of countries and languages.

The Plextor ConvertX Digital Video Converter, which comes with the WinDVD Creator 2 Software.