Newbie Question About DVD Encoding/Burning...

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • XBurner
    • Aug 2005

Newbie Question About DVD Encoding/Burning...

Okay, I'm new to this DVD stuff 'cause I've never had a use for my DVD player. But I just finished downloading the entire run of the Spider-Man animated series, so I want to burn them as DVD's. They're all individual episodes, and they're all MPEG-3's. I was told that DVDShrink is what I need to use to burn these episodes to DVD's, so I got it. I also got a program named DIKO that is supposed to convert files to DVD-stuff, but I have no idea. Can anyone offer me some help? Much appreciated if so.
  • LT. Columbo
    Demigod of Digital Video
    • Nov 2004

"I was told that DVDShrink is what I need to use to burn these episodes to DVD's"

no. it is for backing up commercial dvd's.

the method i use is:

1) Use "TMPGEnc" (or "TMPGEncPlus") to convert the .AVI (DivX-compressed or otherwise) to compliant MPEG2-for-DVD format - Use "TMPGEnc's" DVD wizard/template to accomplish this

2) Use "TMPGEnc DVD Author" (a different program than "TMPGEnc") to easily create the required additional DVD files and structure (and chapters and a menu, if you wish)

**If the combined filesize of the DVD "package" written to your hard drive is greater than 4.37Gb, use DVD Shrink (or similar) to compress
    "One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
    Columbo moments...
    "Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
    "You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
    (An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)

Comment

• tigerman8u
      Lord of Digital Video
      Lord of Digital Video
      • Aug 2003

"they're all MPEG-3's"

are you sure you don't meen mpeg 4 ?