Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • dchich
    • Aug 2006

Recording HDTV

I am new to all this so please forgive my ignorance.

I have a HDTV and a DVR that can record HD (provided by my cable company). Now if they can record a HD signal onto the hard drive that is in the DVR, how impossible is it to either record the same signal onto the hard drive in a pc, or to remove the hard drive from the DVR, and archive the content for future playback from either some sort of media, or from a pc in a media center type of enviornment?
  • ajp
    Platinum Member
    Platinum Member
    • Mar 2005

What is the make and model of your DVR?

Comment

• RFBurns
      To Infinity And Byond
      • May 2006

Originally Posted by dchich
      I have a HDTV and a DVR that can record HD (provided by my cable company). Now if they can record a HD signal onto the hard drive that is in the DVR, how impossible is it to either record the same signal onto the hard drive in a pc, or to remove the hard drive from the DVR, and archive the content for future playback from either some sort of media, or from a pc in a media center type of enviornment?
      Hi!

Im not sure the cable company would appreciate their equipment being opened up and parts removed, such as the internal HD. Besides, the internal formatting of that DVR HD is not a typical FAT32 or 64, thus it would not be recognized as a readable drive in your PC environment. The PC might see the drive itself, but it probably would not be able to see anything off the drive platters.

Your best solution at this point is to get one of the Blu-Ray stand alone DVD recorder units. Feed it with the HDMI in/out from the DVR (if so equipped) and record that way.

Recording ATSC video is still in its infancy...Blu-Ray is still in its infancy...it might be better overall to wait a bit for 2nd or 3rd generation Blu-Ray recorder units to come out so that all the little quirks and incompatiabilities are ironed out.

Here..I will fix it!