Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • troyy01
    • Jan 2004

Answers here for 8mm video capture

I should probably mention that I'm a network engineer with 10+ years of experience--I also work with audio/video equipment as a hobby. I am just now getting a chance to combine the two. I am no rookie by any stretch, especially with the PC side of things.

After three months of troubleshooting, cursing, and staying up late at night, I finally discovered the truth--converting video from analog 8mm (8mm, Hi8, Hi8XR) to the PC, and ultimately to DVD is much easier than it is made out to be. I went down the road of using external devices, one made by Adaptec and the other was a DCS-200 made by Dazzle. After several weeks of research, I discovered that hundreds of people were left stranded with this device because Pinnacle Systems purchased Dazzle and took over the DVC-80 and DVC-150, but not the other products. This left me with no support and a product that only captured sub-par quality and a software app (MovieStar) that couldn't produce more than 3 minutes of video w/o crashing on a very high-performance workstation with a fresh OS installed. Hundreds of people online reported the same symptoms. Circuit City was gracious enough to take the unit back after it was three months old.