X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • VideoPhish
    • Jan 2004

New to This -- Help Please (Nero)

Newbie here...

Not new to editing... been using Adobe Premiere for over a year. Problem is, I'm using it on an older Mac with no DVD burning capabilities...

I recently bought a new PC. I got the Plextor 708A DVD Burner which came with Roxio CD DVD Creator. Well I heard bad things about it, and ran into instability issues right out of the box, so I started looking for another option.

A friend of my husbands said to check out Nero. So I bought it the Ultimate Nero pack... and I've run into a few glitches (and needless to say, I think they have one of the WORST websites on the planet, along with terrible support).

Here's what I'm running into:

Problem #1: The aspect ratio in my menu is 4:3, even though I'm using a 16:9 setting... on the finished DVD all my video plays full screen on a 16:9 TV, but the menu shows up in letterbox.

Problem #2: Video quality seems "off"... it seems that quality was lost either during encoding, or during capture. I can't tell which. I have all the settings set to the highest possible.

Problem #3 (and the most disturbing): When I try to do animated menus I get digital noise -- by noise, I mean large multicolor pixels -- kind like when you have a bad DV tape. The captured videos are all fine, and it only happens the minute I turn animated buttons on. If I use a video background with animated buttons, I get noise in both the background and the buttons. If I use an image background with animated buttons, I get noise only in the animated buttons. If neither is moving it looks ok (but the quality is poor - jaggy fonts, unsmooth edges).
    This noise occurs both when I preview on the computer and when I burn to DVD (any format).

Anyone have an ideas or experienced similar?

Also, what other DVD authoring software would you recommend... something in a similar price range ($100-$200)...

Thanks all...

Amy