Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Netman
    • Jul 2002

Home Videos

I am very new to this. I just got a Pioneer 104 and have a JVC Digital Video Camera. I just hooked it up through the firewire port and using Windows Movie Maker can transfer the video to my pc.

What would I have to do then to get it to the dvd so I can watch it in my dvd player?

Thanks
    Netman
  • Batman
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    • Jan 2002

For capturing software Virtualdub/nandub may be a good choice (both freeware).

You would need a dvd burner which would most likely include the neccesary software to burn to dvd.

Comment

• Netman
      • Jul 2002

Well I have everything I need to get it on the dvd. I am just questioning what do I need to do to the video before I put it on the dvd. Maybe I dont need to do anything.

Comment

• Batman
        Lord of Digital Video
        Lord of Digital Video
        • Jan 2002

So long the format (avi, mpeg-1, mpeg-2 etc...) is acceptable to the dvd burning program you should not have any problem.

Comment

• Netman
          • Jul 2002

ok

thanks

Comment

• Batman
            Lord of Digital Video
            Lord of Digital Video
            • Jan 2002

you're welcome

Comment

• adamonebox
              • Jun 2002

Not so simple

The real question here is whether you want to watch it in your standalone DVD player, vs. your PC's DVD-drive.

In the latter case, you can just dump a video-format file to the disc and you're done. Generally, video captured via firewire to a PC is in the DV format, which is the same high-res format used on the original miniDV tapes.