Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Minx
    • Apr 2004

A question about Nero Vision Express 2

Last night I began to transfer a .AVI video file to DVD using this programme . It is still Transcoding the file after 8 hours(Now it has about 45 minutes to go). I chose to burn it to disc but not really sure what it's doing when transcoding, is it a bit like when DVD shrink Encodes, it has apreview of the file in the preview window showing? And once the time has elapsed will it go straight to burning it to disc?

I am new at this so sorry if it is a bit jumbled up.
  • reboot
    Digital Video Expert
    Digital Video Expert
    • Apr 2004

Nero's encoder is one of the slowest, worst quality things around. No wonder it's taking 8+ hours.
    What it's (attempting) to do, is take your avi, encode it to a DVD compliant mpeg, add your menu's and chapters, convert (transcode) into .vob and .ts and then burn it.
    You will (eventually) get a dialog popup to enable the burning of your disk, if you selected that option on the last screen of the wizard, otherwise it will write a .nrg file to your hard drive, which can be burned in Nero as an image file, to produce your finished dvd.
    Just a couple of suggestions:
    1.) Encode your avi into a proper mpeg using a better program first, such as TMPGEnc, Mainconcept, CCE, or Canopus.
    2.) Only use NeroVision Express to author and burn the dvd.
    BTW, it is NOTHING like DVDShrink.
    My DVDLab (and other) Guides

Comment

• guilhas
      • Mar 2004

an add for the post above.......

Try DVDLab for authoring, DVDShink for BackUp.