Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • keithgate
    • Aug 2004

Power Calib. Error

I have read most, but not all, posts about the Power Calibration Error. My dilemma is this...I have burned fine with an Optorite DD0405 with 105 Firmware. I had upgraded to the 160 firmware for that drive and the encoding process zooms much faster than with the 105 version. However, the problem comes in the burning phase with Power Calib. Error if I stick with the 160 firmware. I am using Ridata 4x DVD-R's and have made flawless backups with the 105 firmware...the problem is the speed is soo slow with that one. Also, with the 106 firmware, the discs are read at 2x max rather than the 4x. I am new to backup of DVDs and was told and read from most that the Ridata were good, reliable discs...does it sound like they are still the problem? Also, I just bought another 50-pack of the same discs...since the encoding is much faster with 106 does it hurt a drive if I do the encoding of several discs then downgrade the firmware back to 105 to burn them...and then back to 106 for the next discs I want to encode?
    Last edited by keithgate; 31 Aug 2004, 06:22 AM.
  • Floppy

Hi keithgate

Just out of curiosity where did you get this firmware from?

To find out more about power calibration errors go here:

Nero Platinum - 7 programmes en une suite ! ✓ Montage vidéo ✓ Streaming ✓ Sécurité des données ✓ Conversion ✓ Gravure ✓ Radio mondiale ► Plus d'informations

I would return the the last firmware version.

If it isnt broken dont fix it.

Comment

• keithgate
      • Aug 2004

I got the firmware from the Optorite website. Like it said, it is very steady with the 105 ver. just very slow. The 106 ver. is fast on the analysing/encoding but causes the Power Calib. Error when I try to burn anything. I have been switching back and forth from on firmware to the other without any problems so far, but would rather not have to do that each time I want to burn a backup.

Comment

• lgha