Want to copy DVD's on a PC. What should I get.

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bbleous
    • Sep 2004

Want to copy DVD's on a PC. What should I get.

Greetings,

I'm new to this subject matter but I think I'm in the place that can provide answers for me.

I'm in the market for a new PC and one capability that I'm looking for is the ability to make copies of DVD's that I own because my young kids (5 & 7) are hard on DVD's I'd like to buy a DVD, make a copy for my kid's use and put the original away.

Is it possible to do such a thing? (I'm assuming the studios have the DVD's encoded in a manner to prevent this for obvious reasons). If so what hardware/software specifically would you recommend?

I've been looking at an HP a650e desktop with a 16x max DVD-ROM Drive and a Double Layer 8X DVD+RW/+R drive. Would this do the trick with the right software? Is there a better way to go about this outside of the PC?

Regards.

Leo
  • guilhas
    • Mar 2004

See guides in this site (DVD SHRINK & DECRIPTER) the hardware is enough, remeber to use good medias such as ritek, ridata and have a lot of sapce in your HardDrive

have fun.

Comment

• bbleous
      • Sep 2004

After reading a little about how the software works, is it really necessary to have a DVD ROM drive and a DVD+RW/+R drive? Could I get by with just a DVD+RW/+R drive?

Comment

• guilhas
        • Mar 2004

No. u can have only the DVD+-RW Drive, first it reads the original disc, shink it on your HardDrive then ask u to insert in the same drive that was reading the original DVD, a blank DVD.
        If u have two drives u can program the process to read from one drive and burn in another with DVDShink, but a space in your HardDrive will still be needed.
        It ony gives u less work by changing the medias.